New Mac user

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mpossoff, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. mpossoff, Jan 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011

    mpossoff macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #1
    Hi was given a 2006 imac. Just installed 2, 1gb ram sticks.

    Installed snow leopard 10.6.

    Machine is running slow and then it runs fast.

    Just noticed there is some stuff left.

    Want to do a restore and then re-install snow leopard 10.6 since I have no files etc to get rid of stuff that was left.

    Is this advisable? If so how can I do a restore?

    Here are specs of imac.

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac4,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 2 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: IM41.0055.B08
    SMC Version (system): 1.1f5
    Serial Number (system): SystemSerialNumb
    Hardware UUID:
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    I would recommend you backup immediately using Time Machine (assuming you are on Leopard or later) or by using SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner.

    After you have done that I'd recommend a reformat and reinstall of OS X. You will need a Snow Leopard upgrade DVD to do that. Here are the steps:

    1. With the SL DVD in the SuperDrive restart the computer holding down the Option key.

    2. After choosing the Upgrade DVD to boot from let the machine start.

    3. Choose the language then click the Utilities menu.

    4. Click Disk Utility

    5. Select the internal HD on the left pane and then click the First Aid tab and Erase the HD using Mac OS Extended (Journaled).

    6. Exit Disk Utility

    7. Continue the installation following the on-screen prompts.

    8. Towards the end of the installation it will ask if you want to migrate from another Mac. Choose yes then it will ask for Time Machine or a volume connected to the Mac. Depending on what type of backup you have choose and choose all the options, it will then restore and you should be up and running.
     
  3. mpossoff thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #3
    Thanks just finished.
     
  4. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA

Share This Page