new MacBook 13.3" or new MacBook Pro 15.4"?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Extol, Nov 1, 2008.

1. Extol macrumors newbie

Hi there.

Question:
    Which one should I buy, new MacBook 13.3" or new MacBook Pro 15.4"?

I'm planning to bring it to office and using it as a my main computer at home.
    I think processing capacity of both is really no problem(I'm doing PHP programming(at office and home) and some Photoshop, compose music(at home)),
    but I'm really worrying about is screen size and portability.

There are no problem when I'm at office cause I will use external display.
    But how are the screen size(Is too small to use it as a main computer at home?) and portability(bring it to office 5 days in a week etc...)?

* I've never used any Mac and any Laptop before.

Any opinions are welcome. Thanks in advance.

2. Fuchal macrumors 68020

Either would be fine. The screen quality of the 15" is much better.

3. highjumppudding macrumors 6502

highjumppudding

macbook pro for professional video editing or graphic design. or gaming. macbook is not good at all for video editing or graphic design.

4. sarah3585 macrumors regular

sarah3585

Why aren't macbooks good for graphic design? Just because of the screen size?

5. damax452 macrumors member

resolution is too low. 1280 x 800 I think.

Why not buy a macbook 13" with the new LED 24" display for home?

6. Extol thread starter macrumors newbie

Nice idea! Although, I don't have money for that right now.

7. mugtastic macrumors regular

mugtastic

if by compose music you mean record it, all good audio interfaces are firewire - new macbook doesn't have firewire.

8. skye12 macrumors 65816

skye12

MB supports very high resolutions on an external monitor and new
    9400 is plenty powerful for the uses you stated. And the 13 is much
    more portable.

9. ritzuk macrumors member

It's a tough call balancing portability and functionality...