New Macbook Air Cannot Connect to Extended Network

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by gizzzo, Aug 18, 2013.

  1. gizzzo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #1
    I have 2 networks at home. My iphone, ipad, MBP and old MBA could connect to both seamlessly for years. I just bought a new MBA and I cannot connect to my extended network. All other devices could continue to connect seamlessly. It's just my new MBA. Help pls!

    More Info:

    New MBA:
    Model: 13-inch, Mid 2013
    Model Identifier: MacBookAir6,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 1.7 GHz
    Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 5000 1024 MB
    Software OS X 10.8.4 (12E3067)


    Router 1:

    WAN:
    Connection Type :DHCP Client
    IP Address :a.b.c.d
    Subnet Mask :255.255.224.0
    Default Gateway :a.b.e.f
    Primary DNS Server :g.g.g.g

    LAN:
    IP Address :192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask :255.255.255.0
    DHCP Server :Enabled

    WIRELESS LAN:
    Wireless Radio :Enabled
    802.11 Mode : Mixed 802.11n, 802.11g and 802.11b
    Channel Width :20MHz
    Channel :13
    WISH : Active
    Wi-Fi Protected Setup :Disabled
    SSID List

    Network Name (SSID): HOME1
    Guest: No
    Security Mode: WPA2 Only - Personal

    LAN COMPUTERS
    IP Address Name (if any)
    192.168.0.102 newMBA
    192.168.0.104 Ipad
    192.168.0.105 iPhone4s


    ROUTER 2:

    ROUTER INFO:
    Router Name: WRT54G

    INTERNET CONFIG:
    Login Type: Automatic Configuration - DHCP
    IP Address: 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask: 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway: 0.0.0.0
    DNS 1: 192.168.0.1
    DNS 2:
    DNS 3:
    MTU: 1500

    LAN:
    MAC Address: 00:13:10:92:4F:8A
    IP Address: 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    DHCP Server: Disabled


    WIRELESS:
    Mode: Mixed
    SSID: HOME2
    DHCP Server: Disabled
    Channel: 1
    Encryption Function: Enabled
     
  2. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #2
    Have you tried enabling DHCP on Router 2 just to see if the Air can connect?
     
  3. gizzzo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #3
    Solved

    Thanks for Linksys support (Analyn (29824)), a solution was found. Apparently new macs may not support AES encryption. So for people on the same boat, change WPA encryption to TKIP.
     

Share This Page