New Macbook Air - iWork not FREE??

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by teknikal90, Nov 14, 2013.

  1. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #1
    Hi all,

    Just bought a 13" Macbook air from the online Apple Store.
    It was BTO - i7 Processor, 256gb and 8gb RAM

    however, it came with Mountain Lion! What's up with that?? further, when I go to the App store, Pages, Numbers and Keynote are not showing as Free.....
    What?? I dont want to click the $19.99 button and hope it doesnt charge my credit card...
    How do I make them free??

    Thank you in advance!

    Tek
     
  2. bernhard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #2
    Hi,

    when I received my MBP the App Store told me that I have to claim some new software. As iWork was not free at the time it was the iLife Suite. The fact that there is ML installed and it does not present iWork would definitely make me want to call Apple Support.
     
  3. Jambalaya macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Upgrade to Mavericks
    Download iWork9 free 30 day trial and install it. Go to app store and get Pages, Numbers, Keynote latest releases for free (Apple know about this "dodge" but dont care).
     
  4. Mac.User macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #4
    When was iWork free?

    iLife has been free with a new Mac, but iWork has NEVER been free.
     
  5. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    Looky here.:eek:

    ----------

    Read here.
     
  6. hunt2013 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #6
    You are mistaken
     
  7. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #7
    I believe you need to install Mavericks first.
     
  8. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    Thanks all!

    Mavericks installed - iWork shows up!

    kind of annoying how a brand new mac doesnt come with the latest operating system that came out a month ago..but what the heck.
     
  9. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #9
    This is what I did and it worked.

    However, I've since bought iWorks 09 because it's better.
     
  10. Conskier2003 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #10
    Yeah, I think it's the newest versions that are set for mavericks that are free, do the free operating system upgrade and you'll be all set.
     
  11. rikscha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Thanks for the hint. I got iWork's for free now by installing the trial version first.
     
  12. TheBacklash macrumors 6502

    TheBacklash

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #12
    You bought a "brand new" old model Mac. And it was packaged prior to 10.9. look up the model number you own and i will bet you it's a 2012 model or early 2013 model. not a late 2013 model that comes with Mavericks installed.

    You say it was BTO, but I bet that config is a pretty common build so Apple may prebuild that config so they can ship it faster. or it's easy for Apple to build the MBA and drop in the Ram/HD at time of order with the HD already prepped with an image of ML installed. And since Mavericks is free..

    And yes your MBA is a mid 2013 (june) model, which is prior to Mavericks.
    (actually just looked with MacTracker, possible it's a 2012 also.. Without knowing the actual MBA model# we can only guess)

    In the end it doesn't matter since you got iWork free now, unless you want ML instead. (Which you can install ML, and still get iWork since it's on your AppleID now)
     
  13. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #13
    its a mid 2013 macbook air.
    but regardless, if you go to the apple store now and buy an iphone 5, it wont come with iOS 6... or if you buy an iphone 4s, it wont come with ios 5.
    but whatever, it was just 3 hours that i didnt want to spend troubleshooting thats all
     
  14. TheBacklash macrumors 6502

    TheBacklash

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #14
    Not true.

    I JUST replaced my iPhone 5 2 weeks ago due to the lock button going bad, known issue.
    Guess what they gave me? iOS 6 loaded iPhone 5.

    I'd check the manufacture date on your MBA, bet it was long before Mavericks.
     
  15. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #16

Share This Page