New MacBook Air or wait for suppposed MacBook Pro update?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by hkodama, Dec 6, 2010.

1. hkodama macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to buy a new computer...the current one I use is a three year old (in February) MacBook Pro (I believe it was the second to last upgrade before the new keyboards, but not sure). It has 2.4 GHz C2D processor, 2 GB 667 MHz RAM, 180 GB HD.

It has served me very well, and I am going to miss it when I replace it, but it is starting to slow up and freeze, etc.

I'm trying to decide between a new Air or Pro...and can use your help. I'm a student in college, so I use it primarily for word processing/internet/research/music/pictures. But I also dabble in video production (nothing for a class or anything too serious, but use Final Cut Express and iMovie, depending on the project.

I know I can get the best Air for the same price as my current computer, and it has 256 GB Solid-State with 4 GB RAM, etc. but a slightly slower processor than this.

Or I can get a new Pro with 500 GB and a faster processor for a similar price.

Wondering what you think about all of this...I know I don't need 500 GB (after three years with this computer, I use about 150 GB), but how much, if at all, will I be able to notice the downgrade in processor (2.4 to 2.13). And will the Graphics disadvantage be noticeable, too?

Basically, I will need a new computer by the end of school year; if I opt for an Air, I'll likely get it for xmas, and if for the Pro, I'll wait until April, when MacRumors is projecting a new upgrade.

Thanks for any help

2. Cavepainter macrumors regular

How important is portability to you?