New Macbook can support 2560x1600?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tonie, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. tonie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #1
    I just went to Apple website and if I'm not mistaken, it says that the new Macbook now support resolution up to 2560 by 1600 (30" dual-link)? Can someone confirm this please?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Cleverly hidden on the MacBook's Tech Specs page is this link.
     
  3. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    yeah this new display port thingy is actually much more advanced than DVI and HDMI

    theres your tradeoff for firewire
     
  4. tonie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #4

    Man, they're charging an arm and leg for that adapter. 1300 plus 100 that's a lot.
     
  5. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    but how much is it really in the grand scheme of things after purchase of a $1300-$2800 notebook plus a $1200 display
     
  6. budkid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    Apple just needs to come out with the HDMI adapter. That would be nice using a Sony Bravia as a monitor.
     
  7. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    it would be really big with really low resolution for the size

    you can easily adapt a DVI port to HDMI

    display port is the connector of the future
     
  8. Andrmgic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    Initially, I was upset that the dual-link dvi adapter for mini displayport is $100, then I read something interesting on the displayport wiki:

    emphasis is mine. It seems like the VGA dongle and the dual-link DVI dongle require active processing instead of a simple pin-out change... that could explain the price difference.
     
  9. tonie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #9
    Does anyone know if this will work with the older macbook or just the new macbook?

    I don't know about you but money is money to me and $100 is a lot of money. Apple used to include mini adapter and controller for free but now they will charge as long as they have a chance. Now you can't even use it for external monitor unless you buy one of these. That's ridiculous.
     
  10. Accident macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #10
    I understand that you feel Apple is 'nickel and diming' its customers with adaptors, but from my experience working at an Apple reseller, the vast majority of users leave these adaptors in the box after they have opened it (most people never connect their laptops to an external monitor, we have to remember that the MacRumors users are not 'most people'), and this is why I think Apple have decided to stop including them.

    If Apple were to include adaptors, which ones should they include - all of them? just in case you need VGA and I need DVI and someone else needs Dual-link DVI.

    I'm not defending their policy, and maybe a compromise would be to offer a voucher with each Mac for one free adaptor or a discount off the dual-link DVI, then people get the cable they need (if they need one at all) and Apple aren't wasting money and resources on components that stay in the box most of the time.
    After all, Apple seem to be committed to reducing waste with their products.

    That said, my G4 PowerBook came with DVI>VGA and S-Video>RCA and both have been very useful over the years.
     
  11. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #11
    ERrr - the DVI on my MBP can (and indeed does) drive a 30" display.

    You have to pay £69 to do that now, and wait 6 weeks.
     
  12. aleksandra. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #12
    mini-DisplayPort != mini-DVI. Nothing changed for the old MacBooks, they can still do only up to 1920x1200.
     

Share This Page