New Macbook, need help transferring music

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by NewMacbook35, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. NewMacbook35 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    Hello everyone. Today I got my first macbook and I love it. I've never used a mac in my life so I've got some learning to do. I've been reading these forums for months and finally decided to register. I want to transfer my music from my windows PC to my mac and am having some trouble. I put all my music on a 4gb flash drive and put it in my mac and I don't really know what to do after that; nothing happens when I put the flash drive in. How do I even access it like on my PC I'd go to my computer and it would be there. Any help would be great, thanks in advance.
     
  2. tallestof4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #2
    usually the flashdrive icon would pop up on your desktop (a picture of a disk)

    "Will my PC devices (cameras, printers, hard drives) work with a Mac?

    A Mac has hundreds of drivers for peripherals preinstalled. Just connect your device and, in most cases, you’re good to go. And a Mac is smart enough to know what to do when you plug in your digital camera: It opens iPhoto and asks if you want to import your recent photos."
    - Apple.com
     
  3. nickbr00tality macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #4
    if you go to finder, the flash drive will show up in the list. you can open the flash drive and copy the music to your itunes music folder; then in itunes, file>add to library>navigate where you saved the music>enter.
     
  4. NewMacbook35 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the help guys. I figured out the problem had to do with it being a sandisk cruzer flash drive and some of the features on it weren't supported by macs. So I changed some setting on the flash drive and now it shows up when I plug it in.

    I have another question though. Is there anything I need to do to my ipod before I plug it into my mac for the first time? I've been using it on a windows computer its whole life so is there some setting in it I need to change? Thanks again.
     
  5. nickbr00tality macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #6
    iTunes may require you to restore your iPod so that it is formatted for use on a Mac. Be sure to have everything backed up! and I believe that's it.
     

Share This Page