New Macbook.. no firewire port! firewire to usb?? HELP!

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by 03barberh, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. 03barberh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #1
    hey, i have the higher spec new macbook and i want to buy a m-audio project mix which runs via firewire. The only problem is, is that my macbook has no firewire port. are there any cables or solutions that convert firewire to usb 2.0?

    I'd be verrrry greatful for any help guys.
    thanks,
    Harry.
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #2
    Nope. Return the macbook, and buy a macbook pro, or a white macbook.

    Or get a new m-audio card - that's what Apple would want.

    Isn't it expensive doing things the "Apple" way? :rolleyes:
     
  3. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #3
    usb and firewire aren't as simple as "the plugs don't fit". Apple dropping firewire on the MBs this last fall created a big uproar on this site.
     
  4. 03barberh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #4
    ah man that really sucks.
    thanks for the help though guys, much appreciated.
    x
     
  5. soulscreamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    ExpressCard/34

    Get an ExpressCard/34 Firewire adaptor. Wors like a charm. I use my MacBook 1394a to run my ProjectMix and a 1394b adaptor for my Glyph
     
  6. yayitsezekiel macrumors 6502a

    yayitsezekiel

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #6
    Yeah I'd recommend doing that
     
  7. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #7
    Umm guys, the Macbook doesn't have Expresscard/34 :rolleyes:
     
  8. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  9. iklln6 macrumors newbie

    iklln6

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #10
    Yes, there IS a firewire... sorta (owner of one)

    you know what? i am confused, too. very confused. the new mac DOES have a firewire, it is between the ethernet hole and USB hole. it has a little firewire symbol on it, and when i go to the About Me it says there's a firewire online and ready, waiting to burn through all kinds of stuff. if that's not enough for ya, http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop_mac/family/macbook_pro?mco=MTE3MDE scroll to the bottom and see it is still listed.

    so, what fits in it? good question. the typical firewire cable won't fit in that strange hole. this thing is square, and inside it looks 'inverted.' have they changed the firewire plug? it's really weird. someone solve this caper. tell me where i can buy a new macbook pro firewire cable!


    p.s. see this image? this is NOT what goes in that hole:
    http://www.techfuels.com/attachments/other-peripherals/4328d1217331464-relight-firewire-firewire.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #11
    You're talking about a Macbook Pro... the OP has a Macbook
     
  11. pkoch1 macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    You're thinking of a MacBook Pro, not a MacBook.

    Regardless, to answer your question, the port you see is Firewire 800, not the 400 that you are used to.
     
  12. djm042 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #13
    I picked some Firewire 800 (9 pin) to Firewire 400 (6 pin) adapter cables at www.monoprice.com for a reasonable price.
     
  13. Auradjinnz macrumors newbie

    Auradjinnz

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #14

    YOU DO HAVE HAVE FIREWIRE…
    But now you have Firewire 800, your older Firewire was Firewire 400 so the plug jack has a different shape.
    Adapters availble for 400 to 800 but some don't work. In the future buy only firewire 800 products. :apple:
     
  14. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #15
    If he has the aluminium MacBook he doesn't have FireWire.

    Only the 17" MacBook Pro has a expresscard slot now.

    If he needs FireWire he needs a White MacBook or a MacBook Pro. Can't be done on an Alu MacBook.
     
  15. CornfordHellcat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #16
    newb question: if I have a firewire 400 mixing desk (which they all seem to be) and i run it into my mbp's fw800 input via an adapter will I pick up latency? Would it be better to go in through an expresscard firewire 400 adapter?
     
  16. Flipstar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #17
    Nope you'll be fine.
     
  17. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #18
    when it converts it it just converts the bit rate from 800 to 400.. so you wont have any problems! :)

    PTP
     

Share This Page