New MacBook Pro 15" BOX size

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by glmonte, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. glmonte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #1
    Hi to all,

    Can someone tell me what is the size of the new MacBook Pro 15" paperboard box?

    Thanks.
     
  2. goffski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  3. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
  4. tcphoto macrumors 6502a

    tcphoto

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    Madison, GA
    #4
    You've got to give it to Apple for their attention to packaging. Seeing the old MBP box sitting next to the new, it's amazing how they eliminated the bulk. It's when you open it up that you see no loose padding. I love the way that they attach the padding to the box and the manual and CD are in a simple envelope.
     
  5. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Yeah, its all because they wanted to become carbon friendly, better materials for the environment, more packages can be shipped in each container etc means less CO2 used to transport each one. Far better for the environment. It has nothing to do with the fact that they can ship more machines at the same price and hence save a bucket load of cash!! :p Probably the same reason as to why they don't include any free DVI adapters in the box, to save the environment.
     
  6. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #6
    LOL so true but they are great at spinning things and making themselves look good. just like they made everyone think they lowered the price on the iphone because "we want everyone to afford one" LOL!
     
  7. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Hahaha, you've got to love them. I guess we have to count ourselves lucky that Steve Jobs has the world's best spin doctors and not some loony politician!
     
  8. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #8
    Of course it's easier for Apple to slim the box down when they don't include any of the accessories the use to include like remote and VGA adapter. They made the box smaller and gave us less for our money too.
     
  9. markrivers macrumors 6502a

    markrivers

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    Valencia, California
    #9
    and we need to start a thread just for the box because???:D
     
  10. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Then they charge ridiculous prices for the accessories. Although the DVI standard includes VGA passthrough and so allows the use of a DVI->VGA adapter, Apple's DVI adapters are digital only so you have to pay again for another expensive display port -> VGA adapter. Then they charge an insane amount for the dual dvi adapter, I guess they figure that if you can afford a 30" ACD then you can afford the extra £60 or $99 I think it is for a little adapter cable. If you want to use VGA though, you'll still have to purchase another £20 adapter. GRRRRRRRRRR....
     

Share This Page