New Macbook Pro 15" - Trackpad Issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chikit, May 10, 2010.

  1. chikit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #1
    Scrolling and Button Click works perfect. But Scrolling and tapping requires two taps to register a click.

    Scenario 1 (Momentum Enabled)
    Try scrolling quickly through a large document with momentum.
    1) Tap once - Scrolling stops
    2) Tap again - Cursor enabled

    Do it again but use the button click instead. Try scrolling quickly through a large document with momentum.
    1) Click once - Scrolling stops, cursor enabled.

    Scenario 2 (Momentum Disabled)
    Scroll through a document.
    1) Tap once - Nothing happens
    2) Tap again - Cursor enabled

    Do it again but use the button click instead. Scroll through a document.
    1) Click once - Cursor enabled


    This happens for me in everything, not just documents. It could be scrolling through anything that's interactive (requires cursor). E.g. scrolling through my skype contacts, the tap doesn't open the skype contact like the click does.

    Do you Macbook Pro owners have this problem?

    I didn't experience this with my Macbook 13" Aluminum.
     
  2. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #2
    I believe the only way to scroll is with 2 fingers.
     
  3. chikit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #3
    Thanks but, I think everyone knows how to scroll. My issue is with scrolling through and activating the trackpad / cursor.

    I've clarified my problem in the first line.
     
  4. AndrewJC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #4
    do you mean tap to click? By default, that option isn't selected in the settings>trackpad section. If it isn't selected, then you must click to enable the cursor.
     
  5. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #5
    Did you two read the same thing, I did? Cause the replies make no sense. I understand the problem, but have no idea how to fix it nor am I on my MBP to try it now.
     

Share This Page