New MACBOOK PRO 15" WILL IT work with 8gb Kingston hyperx 1600mhz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zjw1974, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. zjw1974 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #1
    I'm GETTING A NEW MACKBOOK PRO 15" 2.2 I7 AND WANT TO UPGRADE RAM according to the intel site the i7 2.2 (2720qm) can work with 1600mhz of speed ..so I'm wondering if i can upgrade my mac pro with it kinston hyperx is about 100.00 for 8gb ... it is 204 pin system ..... :D:D:D:D also dose all 1333mhz 204 pin ram work with the apple mac pro laptop ...these is my first apple product :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. 1BadMac macrumors 6502

    1BadMac

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #2
    That memory supports the XMP settings that would allow you to crank it up to 1600 mhz ---- if you had the ability to do so in the BIOS / EFI ---- which MacBook Pro users do not.

    These chips will run at 1333.
     
  3. zjw1974 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #3
    thanks for the info ... any good video on showing a newbie how to remove back casing and to install new ram
     
  4. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #4

    good video
     
  5. teoteo82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    #5
    Hi, I'm a new user, my name is teo and i'm onored to stay in this forum.

    On 25 march when i will buy an ipad2 i will buy also a new macbookpro.

    I will upgrade by myself the ram to 8gb and i0m interested in these rams.

    I have a little question... These rams could enter in the macbookpro? i think that heatsinks could be an handicap... No?

    Does anyone have these rams on their macbookpro?

    Thanks and sorry for my english...
     
  6. finder39 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    you are SOOOO wrong. The MacBook Pros 15" early 2011's will work with 1600 MHz ram, and it actually runs at 1600 MHz, it does not under-clock it!
     
  7. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #7
    Why is it so hard for people to understand that the 2011 MBP's with an i7 WILL REGISTER AND RUN RAM AT 1600MHZ?

    As long as you buy the right modules.

    Make sure the model number of the HyperX modules end in G and NOT GX, and you will be fine. There is already a thread that PROVES THIS.

    GX implies the memory uses an XMP profile to achieve it's clocks. Since the MBP cant access theseprofiles, the GX model will not work. However the G model uses 1600MHz as it's default speed.
     
  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    As the poster before me said, you need to get this part number, if you want it to run at 1600 MHz: KHX1600C9S3K2/8G
    Avoid this part number: KHX1600C9S3K2/8GX

    See this thread for detailed discussion on the topic: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1133642
     
  9. slapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #9
    What about for other brand RAM? How can I tell if it uses XMP or not?

    For example, does this Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 MHz CL10 RAM use XMP or will it actually run at 1600 MHz in my MBP?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233265
     
  10. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    Can you even tell the difference between 1333 and 1600MHz on 2011 MBP?
    I still use my 1333 but if there is a huge difference, I might buy some new ones...
     

Share This Page