New MacBook Pro 802.11N 5ghz?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SinisteR-33139, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. SinisteR-33139 macrumors newbie

    SinisteR-33139

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Hi, Does anyone know if the new MacBook Pro can receive at 5ghz in 802.11N mode? My routeer has the option for 2.4ghz and 5ghz. I can't try it because if I set it and it doesn't work I'll have to do a hard reset to the router because my macbook is my only computer. Also if it does what are the benefits of 5ghz?

    Here is a pic of my router options, Thanks.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
  3. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #3
    Yes it can, it's dual band and supports 802.11 a/b/g/n.
     
  4. 42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #4
    you wouldn't have to hard reset your router if you configure it using ethernet.
     
  5. SinisteR-33139 thread starter macrumors newbie

    SinisteR-33139

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    Ok brilliant so it can handel it, but now the only thing is I have an iPad 2, iPwn 4 and a PS3 and I know they can't. So what to do now? Shall I just keep changing between or just stay at 2.4ghz?

    Thanx
     
  6. superericla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #6
    Personally I would just stay at 2.4GHz if I were you. There's little benefit in switching to 5GHz.
     
  7. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    The iPad/iPad 2 can use the n-band without an issue.
     
  8. SinisteR-33139 thread starter macrumors newbie

    SinisteR-33139

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    Yeh but can it handle at 5Ghz? Because I tried it before and it couldn't discover the hub.
     
  9. macagain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    #9
    mbp... yes n and 5Ghz... after it connects, option click on the wifi icon on the menu bar and see for yourself.

    5Ghz is nice if you live in an apartment/condo bldg... overwhelming majority of people are still on 2.4 which makes it very congested. you'll have the 5Ghz band almost all to yourself. in my bldg, out of maybe 12-15 ssid's i can see, only one other is on 5Ghz.

    ipad... yes n and 5Ghz as well.

    ATV2, yes and yes too!

    iphone4... n but only 2.4Ghz
     
  10. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yes yes and yes
     
  11. SinisteR-33139 thread starter macrumors newbie

    SinisteR-33139

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #11
    Hi, lol thanks for the help mate I just changed it and MBP & iPad 2 are working fine.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  12. psxguru macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #12
    If you want the best of both worlds then it's time to treat yourself to a simultaneous dual band wireless router. :D
     
  13. polbit macrumors 6502

    polbit

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    +1

    It's great to have 5GHz band all to yourself, and have the other devices fight in the 2.4GHz range :) We have two baby video monitors, and between that, PS3, two wireless printers, Galaxy Tab, and two windows laptops, it can be a nightmare getting a clean signal at 2.4GHz...

    Polbit
     

Share This Page