New Macbook Pro and Rome II

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by lazypoet, Jul 19, 2017.

  1. lazypoet macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #1
    I tried to play ROME II on Steam in the mac partition of my new 2017 15 inch Macbook Pro.

    I find that it was extremely laggy and horrible.

    However playing a slightly older game like Shogun II Total War plays buttery smooth on highest settings.

    So should I be able to play Rome II on this device?
     
  2. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #2
    Rome 2 was unfortunately an in-house port from Creative Assembly themselves, who have virtually no experience in Mac development. It's terribly optimised and just crap. The same is true for Attila.

    Shogun 2 and all other TW games have been ported by Feral, who know what they are doing.
     
  3. lazypoet thread starter macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #3
    Do you have any experience with the newer ones : Total War : Warhammer? What about the newest civilisation?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2017 ---
    So if I played Rome 2 on a windows partition on this computer it would be less laggy?
     
  4. MRxROBOT macrumors 6502

    MRxROBOT

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Location:
    1011100110
    #4
    Gaming will always be better on a windows partition. I tried gaming on the Mac side and was underwhelmed, then tried it via BOOTCAMP and never looked back. It really is that much better.
     
  5. lazypoet thread starter macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #5
    From a non-geek : Why is it better?

    And more importantly, will High Sierra change that?
     
  6. Janichsan, Jul 19, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2017

    Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #6
    As the (fantasy) Warhammer setting doesn't interest me, I haven't played Total Warhammer. From what I heard, it runs great, though. I also haven't played Civ VI.

    Rome 2 should work much better under Windows. Attila does.

    In general, because the performance is better. Games for Windows are usually developed with DirectX in mind. When they get ported to macOS, they had to be rewritten to use OpenGL, which lead to a significant performance hit, especially since Apple's OpenGL implementation is outdated and just crap.

    However, Apple introduced Metal as new graphics API last year. After some teething pain, it now seems to be ready for prime and actually delivers a fairly good performance, sometimes on par with DirectX. But there still aren't many games using Metal at the moment.

    High Sierra will bring improvements that all Metal games should profit from, and when they are specifically adapted to High Sierra's Metal 2, they should perform even better. OpenGL games won't benefit from these improvements.
     
  7. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #7
    Civ 6 runs fine on my 2013 MBA and iMac 2011. It is made for retina, and there is planned support for the touchbar of the donglebook pro. :)
     

Share This Page