New Macbook Pro Battery Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gjm87, Apr 11, 2014.

  1. gjm87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    #1
    So I just got a new 15inch Retina Macbook Pro after returning a custom built 13inch since I needed the additional power, and I noticed on the 15inch my battery already had 4 cycles on it and my custom built had zero on it. Does anyone know why this would happen or is this normal?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Was this a replacement refurbished model or fresh out of the box. I believe Apple would be good people to check with.
     
  3. gjm87 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I would give them a call. It is possible that it is incorrectly reporting the cycles. Try resetting the SMC. Also download BatteryHealth from the App Store and see what it says for both the Battery Capacity, Cycle Count, and Age.
     
  5. kathyricks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #5
    My new late 2013 15" in sealed Apple box had 3 battery cycle counts when I first turned it on. So it appears normal for the count to be 0-4. I also called Apple to check the serial number of my unit to verify it was a new and not a refurbished unit or customer return and Apple said it was completely new and never turned on by anyone.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    I wasn't sure. I am pretty sure mine said zero but it could definitely be from testing at the factories!
     
  7. Ornstein macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    #7
    A couple of cycles is normal, factory recharge-discharge tests. My replacement battery had a couple as well.
     
  8. Barney63 macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
  9. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #9
    Mine also had 3 cycles from new, no worries.

    M
     
  10. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11

    Good to hear. Anything under 10 cycles is acceptable then.
     
  12. slo-climber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    #12
    And where can I see the number of cycles actually?
     
  13. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #13
    you can download iStat pro for free and check it that way.

    otherwise, on the mac...click the apple logo, about this mac, more info, system report, power, and then cycle count.
     

Share This Page