New MacBook Pro faster then old MacPro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by clank72, May 27, 2012.

  1. clank72, May 27, 2012
    Last edited: May 27, 2012

    clank72 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #1
    Trying to "down-size" my setup. I'm thinking of selling my Mid 2008 MacPro Dual 2.8 Quad-Core Xeon and getting the latest MBP 2.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 with a Solid State drive?.

    Will the MBP out perform my big MacPro?

    Programs I always have open
    Photoshop CS6
    Adobe Bridge
    Itunes
    Word
    Skype
    Safari
    Firefox
    Preview app.
    I also edit in Adobe Premiere on occasion.

    So far I have no complaints how my 2008 MacPro performs. I do have a 2009 MPB intel core 2 duo and it's slow as hell.
     
  2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    An SSD will make all disk-related activities happen basically instantly. So, for the most part, the new MBP will seem faster than the MP, except maybe when you're working in Premiere. But that has more to do with the SSD than the MBP. I don't think you'd be disappointed making that change.
     
  3. Xcallibur macrumors 6502a

    Xcallibur

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #3
  4. clank72 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #4
    Wow, never seen that page before. Many thanks!
     
  5. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Take what you see on that page with a grain of salt. It's completely synthetic and definitely does not paint the whole picture on how a computer will perform.
     
  6. Xcallibur macrumors 6502a

    Xcallibur

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #6
    Nope it doesn't, but it does give a good estimate of performance in CPU intensive serial processes.
     
  7. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #7
    The MBP with the SSD will seem faster, but the same SSD in the MacPro will fly. You have 4 more cores to work with on the MacPro. That said, other than Photoshop most of the other tasks could be performed and seem just as fast on a baseline MBA.
     
  8. Xcallibur macrumors 6502a

    Xcallibur

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #8
    The MacPro has 4 cores.
     
  9. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    Nope, it has 8. Dual quad-core.
     
  10. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #10
    Each CPU has 4 cores. It has 2 CPUs.

    2x4=8
     
  11. Xcallibur macrumors 6502a

    Xcallibur

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #11
    I stand corrected.
     
  12. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #12
    Aside from Bridge and possibly Premiere, those applications scale horribly with core count. Because of this the newest macbook pro may feel a little zippier assuming you go with the quad core and load it with ram to the point where it touches the disk very little. This applies whether you use an ssd or not.
     

Share This Page