new macbook pro harddisk with clicking sound

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jpma, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. jpma macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #1
    Hi all

    I just receive a new macbook pro 15'' 2.8ghz
    the drive is a 500gb Fujistu, every 1 or 2min I can hear a click from the harddisk even my computer isn't moving at all nor am I surfing anything much, not running any other app beside safari.

    I don't remember having this problem on the older unibody 2008 model before.
    Although SMART and disk utility didn't show anything wrong.

    and I also ran backup occasionally,
    but definitely don't like the sound of this clicking.

    anyone else having this?
     
  2. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #2
    Sounds like a defect to me. Clicking usually a sign of HD failure approaching...
     
  3. Ardoptres macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    #3
    Mine makes a clicking sound when i move it around. Same thing?
     
  4. Macvy Ricky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #4
    No dont worry about it. Fujitsu hard disks have the tendency to park their heads too much. Its normal. Look it up on apple discussions.
     
  5. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    I do confirm.
    It' s probably simply the sound of heads parking.
    And it's not only a Fujitsu's behavior.
     
  6. jpma thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #6
    I starting to get annoy by it now.

    guess i should start survey for ssd now.
    thank you
     
  7. RCube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #7
    I had a Fujitsu and it did the same thing. Parking its head way too often. You can verify this by using something like SMARTReporter. It can show you the number of times it parked the head.

    The simple solution is to get hdapm (http://mckinlay.net.nz/hdapm/). Then set apm level to max. So it won't sleep on its own. The expensive solution is... SSD drive. :D
     
  8. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #8
    Do you have to start this program after every reboot or you just have to set it once and then forget it ?
     
  9. jpma thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
  10. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    Not so much, but definitely yes.
    Because it "disable" the APM of the hard drive.
     
  11. RCube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #11
    The readme has instructions on how to get it to start with osx. But not all reboots will work(I say 50%). If it doesn't work, then even manually running the cmd will fail after osx boots.

    So it is best to power off and start again(this always works). Basically.... a pita.

    As for power, I think it just sets hd's own apm. But osx still has control over when the hd sleeps. I could be wrong. You can verify this using the SMART tool.
     
  12. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #12
    I asked because following the readme instructions, it didn't work after a reboot ;)

    BTW I decided against its use. It basically disables APM on the hard disk, and I don't think it's a wise idea, just to save load cycles of the hard disk's heads.
     

Share This Page