New macbook pro - Migrating content

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lazypoet, Jul 4, 2017.

  1. lazypoet macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #1
    So I just ordered a new macbook pro. French price, my wallet cries. :D I'm already starting to worry about migrating my content over to the new one.

    I have two users on my macbook, are they both backed up automatically when i backup with time machine?

    I have an enormous photo library in lightroom. Any advice about the migration part of that? The raw files are referenced on an external hard drive, i'm afraid ill break their links in the lightroom software.

    As a general rule of thumb, do you do some sort of procedure before you migrate? Like clean the mac for junk, old apps, structure folders better etc ?

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions! This is my first new macbook pro since 2010, I'm really excited! Unlike most people I actually like the touch bar.
     
  2. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #2
    You have two options via the setup assistant on the new machine... you can either restore via time capsule or you can connect the old machine to the new via thunderbolt (depending on what you're transferring from). Migration assistant will handle the rest; it will walk you through the process on the new machine.

    Good luck!
     
  3. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #3
    +1 for the Migration Assistant... works great...
     
  4. lazypoet thread starter macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
  5. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #5
    Migration assistant should transfer everything. Applications (including Lightroom) and all files (i.e. Lightroom library) will all be restored on the new machine exactly as you left them. Really works very well.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    Just before you turn on the NEW MacBook for the very first time, run a backup on the OLD one.

    Then, connect the backup to the NEW one, before you even start it up.

    Next, power it on. Begin the setup.

    At the right moment, Setup assistant will ask if you want to migrate. It works quite well.
     
  7. lazypoet thread starter macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #7
    Am i sensing some sarcasm in your post? Why do you specifically say that I need to do the backup JUST before I turn on the new one? Will the day before change anything?
     
  8. PieTunes macrumors 6502

    PieTunes

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    I don't think he's being sarcastic, he's just giving you steps to ensure that your new system has the most recent stuff from your old system. I for one do what he's describing as well when I migrate to a newer machine. If I so much as miss some data such as iMessages that came in or went out between the backup and restore, I get a little bit miffed, yes I guess that's a little obsessive-compulsive LOL.
     
  9. lazypoet thread starter macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #9
    Ok thanks :) Would you say I should backup both users individually or are they both backed up automatically?
     
  10. PieTunes macrumors 6502

    PieTunes

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    As long as you didn't exclude any particular user folders in the TM options, everything is backed up. During the migration where you tell it to restore from a TM backup, I think it will show you all the users and you can just have it restore everything/everyone that is checked.
     
  11. Soulful macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #11
    This is a great question as it applies to me as well.... just waiting on a 15"/2.9/2TB 2017 MBP which I need to connect to my trusty 15" 2010 MBP - can I use the Apple digital AV adapter to do the connection with a thunderbolt cable ??

    Otherwise - how do I connect the 2 machines to use migration assistant ??

    Thanks
     
  12. lazypoet thread starter macrumors regular

    lazypoet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #12
    I think a time machine backup will be just as effective and will not need the macs to be connected with a cable. Correct me if I'm wrong :)
     
  13. PieTunes macrumors 6502

    PieTunes

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #13
    I personally have never done a migration from one Mac to another through a Thunderbolt cable, maybe someone can chime in as to whether or not that can go through the adapter without a hitch? Off the top of my head I can't imagine why it *wouldn't* work. The only migrations I have performed have been a restore from a TM backup, and a migration over my WiFi network with both systems up, the latter works just as well as the former, albeit a bit slower.
     
  14. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #14
    I am sure it would... but depending on how the target computer is connected to the TM backup, the TB Migration Assistant could be significantly faster (TB2 vs wifi connection to the TM device).
     
  15. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #15
    Migration Assistant will either pull data from a Time Machine backup or directly form the old Mac via thunderbolt. However, I don't believe the 2010 machines had thunderbolt; I think it was introduced in 2011. Either way, the digital AV adapter will not work. You would need a TB to TB3 adapter from Apple.
     

Share This Page