New Macbook Pro Now Competent Gaming Computer?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by w00t951, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    It seems as though the new Macbook Pros are actually ahead of most of the PCs, and many of the features (especially the 1GB GPU) are gamer-oriented. Anyone think that the new machines can actually serve as gaming computers?
     
  2. darkeartg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #2
    I had the old i7 2.8 ghz and I thought that was good for games... Played starcraft on high perfectly
     
  3. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Gonna find out once my BTO with SSD and the 1GB VRAM 15" shows up. Should be able to get some good benchmarks from this unit as I'll be starting completely fresh this go around. I've had the same OS and ~/Home folder since OS X 10.3 or so. I need a fresh start :)
     
  4. w00t951 thread starter macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    Does anyone have experience installing Windows 7 64-bit onto the new Macs? I wonder if Apple will provide 64-bit support or if we will have to hunt around for manufacturer drivers.
     
  5. vipergts2207 macrumors 65816

    vipergts2207

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #5
    The 15" and 17" MBP's have always been halfway decent gaming machines imo. Obviously they've never been in the same league as the laptops using nvidia 480M's, etc. but you can only fit so much power into a 1" thick computer. The 6750 they put in the high-end 15" and 17" certainly exceeded my expectations for what Apple would include. I was expecting a nvidia 525M or AMD 6630M.
     
  6. darkeartg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #6
    ^^ i have windows 7 64 bit on my comp, and am going to install it on this one in a bit.
     
  7. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #7
    The 6750m isnt that great for gaming in 1680x1050

    Dont expect settings on high.

    Most people were expecting the 6830m. As it is the same the tdp as the old gt330m
     
  8. vipergts2207, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011

    vipergts2207 macrumors 65816

    vipergts2207

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #8
    Pretty sure the 6830 didn't have a 23 W TDP. In another thread a few people were claiming the TDP of the 6830M was only 24 W, but someone else said that AMD only says the TDP of the graphics chip alone and does not include the other things in the TDP, whereas nvidia gives the TDP of the entire thing. I find it hard to believe a GPU as powerful as the 6830M only has a TDP of 24W. The 5830M has a 24 W TDP, but the core clock in it is slower.

    The 6830M also uses DDR3 for the memory and Apple usually uses the superior GDDR memory, in this case GDDR5.
     
  9. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #9
    The 6830M is a 50-75 watt TDP part (AMD lists chip only TDP - they omit the RAM and GDDR5 requires lots of current). It is a faster 5850 - i.e. something that ships as an upgrade in the M15x gaing notebook.

    That other poster is nuts.

    http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD-6830M.43739.0.html
     
  10. stharding macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Location:
    FL
    #10
    I am dual booting with Windows Server 2008 R2 (very similar to Windows 7 x64) with no problems.
     
  11. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #11
    I have W7 64-bit installed via bootcamp on my 2009 MBP. So you should have no problems
     

Share This Page