New Macbook Pro optimimal External / Internal Drives

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by egrissom, Oct 14, 2008.

1. egrissom macrumors newbie

egrissom

Hello,

I was hoping someone could help me decide on a new external firewire drive to purchase as well as push me in one direction or the other on the internal HD offered in the new Macbook Pros released today. I know there are probably countless threads about "What External Drive should i get for a MBP?" but I thought I'd post my question anyway as there is brand new hardware on the market with specific configurations.

As a background I am by no means a professional video editor. I have been using Final Cut Pro since version 2 but it's generally for my own creative endeavors. The rest of the time I work in web development. I have Final Cut Pro 5 now, and would be willing to try out Express if not for the lack of batch capturing.

I currently have a G5 2.3 Dual Core with two internal HDs, 250 gigs on the boot drive and 500 Gigs on the media drive. It has 2 Gigs of Ram. I do my web development on a first generation Macbook with a "good lord this thing is too tiny" 60 gig drive, 1/3 of which is full of mp3s and old episodes of Doctor Who (I've said too much). My goal is to sell both of those machines and purchase a new MacBook Pro with an external 1TB drive.

I plan on going with the higher end model to get the additional RAM, etc. My questions are:

• Do I need to upgrade the internal HD to 7200 RPMs or am I safe with 5400 RPM's since all my media will be on the external drive?
    • I realize this is probably a silly questions but now that Firewire 400 is gone, and there looks to be only one 800 port how does someone keep an external drive connected AND capture video off the camera deck? Do external drives have additional connectors to daisy chain?
    • Lastly what external drive can you recommend for use with FCP 5?

Thanks for taking the time to read. Any help or advice would be appreciated.