Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

1,000 Shards

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 8, 2009
Hi! I'm a new macbook pro owner migrating over from years of gaming on windows desktops.

Last Tuesday, June 2nd I purchased the entry level MBP for 2149.99(CAD)+ 5% sales tax from the Futureshop up here in Canada. At the time I was well aware of the pending WWDC and ensured they had a 14 day no questions asked full money back return policy.

I'm a 4th year University student, and this is my first laptop (and first Apple since an Apple IIc when I was about 7) and I'm already quite happy with it and OSX in general.

My usage: At the moment I primarily use it for Schoolwork, itunes, movie watching and some light photo editing via Photoshop and Lightroom 2. I plan to get rid of my big old windows gaming desktop to a family member that desperately needs a computer at a greatly reduced price. I don't do much of any gaming right now.

In summary:
Should I return or not? I do mostly consumer level photo work, so having an improved LCD screen would be nice, as well as increased battery life and an additional 2gb of ram. The processor speeds across my price point are negligible at best.

On the other hand, losing the graphics card will be huge for me since I plan to do some light gaming on here at some point. Primarily I will be playing Quakelive when it becomes available for mac users, Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3. (I imagine by the time D3 is available, I can afford to upgrade my macbook pro then)

I primarily use my laptop plugged into the mains at home and in the campus library, although I do use it during 3 hour summer classes, so battery life as been a non-issue to this point, but more is always better, right? I've also found a compatible 2gb memory stick locally for 53/canadian, so I plan to put that in as well.

In Summary: