New Macbook Pro Retina 15" & 4K external display?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kanelbulle, Oct 24, 2013.

1. kanelbulle, Oct 24, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013

kanelbulle macrumors newbie

I'm an amateur photographer & videographer using primarily Aperture, Photoshop and FCP X. I'm on the market for a new Mac & a large display (27"-30"), and I would like this set-up to be a good future proof investment - both in terms of processing power as well as display quality that will cope with the current technology trends (>40 Mpix full-format sensors, 4K video, etc...)

I initially purchased a brand new maxed-out iMac 27", a beautiful and powerful machine indeed - which I eventually returned because I was disappointed by the screen pixel density (small text looked fuzzy and uncomfortable to read)... I guess I got used to the Retina standard :)

So I'm left with 2 options, which shall be based a better display than the currently available iMac/Thunderbolt display:
    - Maxed-out 15" rMBP 2.6GHz with Iris Pro & GT 750M + 4k display
    - MacPro + 4K display

The MacPro setup is for sure ideal, but it is going to be very expensive - and maybe over-speced for my needs.

So I'm leaning towards the maxed-out rMBP setup, and my question is: will the Iris Pro + GT 750M GPU combo be powerful enough to drive a 4k display via Thunderbolt 2 - and still run Aperture/Photoshop/FCPX swiftly?

From what I read about the Iris Pro and the Nvidia 750M, it seems like it should be OK, but Apple doesn't officially confirms that. They do mention the ability to drive the Retina Screen at full native resolution + up to 2 external displays at 2560x1600. Should be enough to drive one 4K display? But again, would the apps still run quickly & smoothly?

Moreover, the inclusion of Thunderbolt 2 is almost an implicit confirmation that rMBP should be able to drive a 4K display?