New MacBook Pro - Upgrade RAM Before First Start-Up?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DadHatter, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. DadHatter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #1
    I purchased a new MacBook Pro this week, and also ordered 4 GB of memory as an upgrade (from another seller). I'm wondering if there is any issue with installing the new RAM before booting up for the first time? Obviously, it's a non-issue either way, but are there any issues with making the swap from 2 GB to 4 GB before going through the Leopard set-up stuff?

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  2. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #2
    Boot your machine first to check for issues, otherwise you'll be sitting around diagnosing the real cause of the problem.
     
  3. Teej guy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #3
    True words. Run it stock. If you're happy with it after a day or two (even a week) of solid use, put in the ram. By that point you'll know if your performance is improved by changing the stock config, or if something is wrong, you'll have a much easier time of diagnosing it.
     
  4. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #4
    Use the Apple supplied RAM for a few days to ensure things are running smoothly.

    Then if you decide to upgrade, purchase a complete 4GB kit and KEEP the stock RAM. If you ever need to run a hardware test or send your MBP in for repair you'll be best served (less hassles) by using the stock RAM.

    I purchased a 4GB kit from Crucial for my Penryn-based MBP for approx $100.
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    I installed my RAM before my first boot-up--no issues there, but I would still recommended doing a stock boot before an upgrade; just in case there are issues that you need to replace your computer, you don't have to mess around with the RAM 3 times.
     
  6. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #6
    yeah...make sure you don't have any issues, then install the upgrade.
     
  7. wakeborder556 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #7
    Very, very wise.
     
  8. jdzialak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #8
    I got mine with 2G in April and just upgraded to 4G.
    I honestly am not seeing much difference, if any at all.


    Joe
     
  9. Applepwns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #9
    yep boot first play with it for a day or two then install the amazing 4gb of ram =P
     

Share This Page