New Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mark903, Mar 25, 2017.

1. Mark903 macrumors newbie

Mark903

Hi
    I'm a photographer and videomaker from Italy. I realized it's time for me to buy a new computer as I'm starting to work professional.
    I was thinking about buying an iMac but my laptop is almost at the end of his journey (Macbook 2008) so I'm counting to buy a Macbook pro.

I need to have some good performance on this new computer, I have to edit videos (sometimes in 4K) and run software like Adobe's.
    About the new 2016 Pro's i kinda hate the touch bar and the USB-C, so I tought about the Late 2015 but it's a two years old Macbook with a 5 years old processor, and so I was wondering if it worth to wait for the new 2017 series (which should have the new processors but also touch bar and USB-C).

So, can anyone here give me some advice?? Is it better for me to wait?? Or to buy a Late 2015?? Is it really so noticeable the performance difference??

Thanks guys ;)

2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

keysofanxiety

The 2015 15" rMBPs are great and still very powerful. In fact the CPUs benchmark slightly higher than the 2016s.

Don't worry about when the CPU was released. Intel have released new mobile chips with less performance than a decade-old Core 2 Duo. So release date doesn't matter as much as you'd think.

You can get some cracking deals on the 2015 15" and that would be the best machine for you if you're not fond on the 2016.

3. Sanpete macrumors 68020

For 4K video editing with Adobe software (Final Cut Pro is a lot faster on a Mac), you'll want the best dGPU you can get, which is in the 2016. Generally the 2016 is more than noticeably faster for video editing, sometimes as much as 50-90% faster in tests I've seen. Part of the reason for this is that the 2015 throttles more easily than the 2016.

Keep in mind that it's hard to find a new 2015 with a dGPU now.