New Macbook Pros are Quad Core??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by candreacchio, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. candreacchio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #1
    Hey,

    Just submitted this rumor after checking out the qualified hardware list for the new maya (maya 2009)... They list the MacBook Pro Specifications as below...

    MacBook Pro
    Intel Core 2 Extreme @ 2.33hz
    Intel Core 2 Extreme @ 2.4Ghz
    Intel Core 2 Extreme @ 2.5Ghz

    You can get the pdf Here

    Carlo
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Looks like they're labeling the Core 2 Duo as an Extreme.
     
  3. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
  4. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #4
  5. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    Intel Core 2 Extreme specs

    Notice that the Extreme line has both quad-core and dual-core processors. From the reading I say, the "Extreme" branding is just a marketing thing that's for both dual-core and quad-core. I also think I recall some big deal about Apple going with someone else's motherboards or chipsets for the Intel CPUs, so they may or may not be ready for the quad-core CPUs.

    I also notice the total lack of looking goodness on that PDF, which makes me think either you're misunderstanding what that sheets says or they haven't a clue what they're talking about.
     
  6. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #6
    Actually, "Extreme" denotes an uncapped clock multiplier (and a far bigger markup)
     
  7. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    Check the Apple Store's refurb section, there was an iMac marked Extreme a few days ago.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Keep in mind that's an iMac and not a Macbook Pro.
     
  9. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    Yes, but we are talking about processors as well, so some of the C2D iMacs were marked Extreme.
     
  10. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    The 3.06 Ghz 24" uses an Extreme CPU built for Apple and now available in some other machines.

    That's what mine says in Windows. It's listed as a 3.06 Core 2 Duo Extreme.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    At the time the X7900 was the fastest mobile processor on the market. It did fall under Intel's "Extreme" moniker.
     
  12. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #12
    With all the naming changes, I miss the old days of processor naming. "I have a P4" :p
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    Socket 478 or LGA775? :rolleyes:

    Pentium 4 or the 5xx and 6xx Series?
     
  14. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #14
    LOL, I remember the whole socket fiasco!

    Maybe 486DX2 vs. DX vs. SX? I guess it was never simple eh? :D
     
  15. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #15
    Yeah, but in all fairness, the original Wilamette/Northwoods were all 478s and they lasted a good while.

    Then they got to Prescott and it all went to hell.
     
  16. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Socket 478 on a 875P chipset. 3.4GHz Prescott core with HT.
     
  17. nickcliborne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Nut house
    #17
    TURBO 66mhz to 70mhz!!!
     

Share This Page