New Macbook Scratched, Possibly Used?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by roccoict, Mar 10, 2009.

1. roccoict macrumors newbie

Hi,

I received my new Macbook in the mail today after ordering it late last week. I did, however, notice a light scratch just above the mouse pad (below the spacebar). I was wondering if anyone had any insight as to whether or not my Macbook could have been opened or even used. I also noticed many small scratches on the power adapter.

Also, there are two PDFs (stacks and downloads) next to the trash bin. Their creation date is March 28th of last year. Is this a universal creation date or was it created on this Macbook? I'm guessing the former.

I'm new to Macs (as you can probably tell) so please don't ridicule me too hard.

2. nitra.candy macrumors newbie

no idea about the scratch but the two pdf files should be about what the stacks and download folder are for. its basically the same thing in each.
    at least that was in mine

3. jtibbitt macrumors regular

jtibbitt

Hmm,
    I forget what my Desktop looked like when I bought my Macbook, but I don't remember any PDFs. But I'm positive that the hard drives and everything else should be brand new and that Apple installs the latest OS they have just before shipping. If you aren't happy with it, then call them up and tell them. They ought to replace it. I just purchased a new Macbook and it should arrive Thursday. If there is one big enough scratch on mine, I will complain and ask to have it replaced.

BTW, these computers are so nice, you might want to invest in one of those protector covers. But beware. I got one for my current white Macbook right after buying it, and the cover itself with it's tight fit ended up putting scratches all over the computer (esp. on the bottom). In fact, thinking about it, I'll post a thread to ask others.

4. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

acfusion29

5. roccoict thread starter macrumors newbie