New MacbookPro Touching TRACKPAD kills the mac!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Macnewbie27, May 2, 2009.

1. Macnewbie27 macrumors newbie

Hi Everybody,

I've been a windows user for more than 10 years and finally i decided to try the mac. I bought a macbookpro (the newest one on the market = 4 Gb 1067 Mhz DDR3, 2,8 Ghz intel core 2 duo). I have been using it for a couple of months now without any problems - absolutely loving it - then all of a sudden 2 weeks ago something very strange happened. I was syncing my iphone (i don't know if this is associated with the problem but i should mention anyway) on the macbookpro and i disconnected it during syncing because it got stuck for some reason. Eversince i did that, the trackpad of the laptop started Not to respond. I can only move the cursor of the mouse but i can't register any clicks nor select any items from the dock or from my desktop. Not only that, but now everytime even if i slightly touch the trackpad (or move my finger on its surface) the whole system is freezing. By freezing i mean, i can move the cursor but i'm not able to click on anything plus the dock even won't respond when i go over it with the cursor. There's no magnifying effect and i can absolutely click on nothing!
    As an alternative, i tried to work with an external mouse (i have the mighty mouse) to see if it's gonna work and to my luck it does actually work. When i use the mighty mouse everything works fine but if i touch the trackpad (even accidentally) while using the mightymouse the whole system goes crazy again and this time i can't even use the mighty mouse so i simply have to restart my system (as this is the only way to unfreeze it). So basically, not only the trackpad went to hell but everytime i touch it the whole system goes to hell. So everytime i travel i have to take the mighty mouse with me and i can't enjoy the trackpad whatsoever.