New MacBooks

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by OCSpersonel, Mar 14, 2009.

1. OCSpersonel macrumors regular

So i am a Graphic Artist/Video Editer/Photographer looking for a macbook. and the main questiion i have here is that if i get the New Macbook with 2.4 Ghz Plus 4 gigs of ram and a bigger hard drive, will it be able to run the Adobe CS4 Master Suite? i dont really have the money to go to a pro just yet

2. iTzChasE macrumors 6502

iTzChasE

Have you thought about a Refurb MBP? $1699 for the low end model. You get a bigger screen, dedicated graphics, and more. Much better in the long run.

Plus, you can always upgrade the ram in the future. I would dish out 100 more dollars for the pro.

But, I think the macbook would be fine also.

3. OCSpersonel thread starter macrumors regular

ya, i thought about it but I really dig the new style if the Macbooks.

4. skaertus macrumors 68030

skaertus

Yes, a MacBook will run Adobe CS4, even with 2 GB RAM. You may update your memory later if you feel that 2 GB is not enough - but it will be enough unless you get some really heavy job. The resolution of the screen, however, is just 1280x800. You may get an extra monitor, but then it would be better to have a dedicated video card. And, anyway, the extra money you will spend to buy an external monitor is the extra money you need to buy the MacBook Pro instead of the MacBook...

5. OCSpersonel thread starter macrumors regular

Is there anyway to plug the macbook into my iMac? And idk how heavy I would be going. If I did some heavy loading what would you recomend upgrading

6. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

kastenbrust

For High Resolution/RAW Photography editing and serious video editing you need a MBP due to CS4's graphics card resource allocation but if your just an amateur messing around with CS4 then the 2.4 Macbook will be fine for you. You'll know if you need a MBP.

7. nufanec macrumors regular

No you don't.

8. windels macrumors regular

windels