New MacPro - BootCamp XP Sound Problem?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by darthraige, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #1
    Tried looking all over for this but found nothing...

    Anyone else having a problem with Windows XP recognizing Sound with BootCamp on the new MacPro? Anyone know how to set it up? I went into control panel and it won't let me do anything under the sound settings. I am using the Optical Out of the MacPro into my system. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. fandsw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Helena, AL
    #2
    Maybe the Bootcamp XP drivers that come with 10.5.1 do not have all the XP drivers needed for the new MP. Maybe 10.5.2 fixes it.....

    Have you tried analog output instead of optical?
     
  3. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #3
    I haven't tried that yet, but I would think the Sound Settings in XP would let me switch to it or even recognize it. Hopefully 10.5.2 gets released tomorrow.
     
  4. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
    Just to be sure...you did install drivers in XP off Leopard disc, right?
     
  5. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #5
    What do you mean by that? I don't have a Leopard disc since it came pre-installed on the MacPro, unless I could use the Restore Disc? ... So what you are telling me is that there are drivers on that disc that XP will recognize?
     
  6. yesthisisapc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #6
    Umm... all Macs, regardless of make or model will come with the OS disc. It'll be purple and have a big X on it. It's hardware tied, but that's it.
     
  7. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #7
    No. Not if it's pre-installed on the Mac. The new MacPro came with 2 gray discs. Restore discs, that have Leopard on it for that computer only. So are those files on the disc for XP?
     
  8. fandsw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Helena, AL
    #8
    That's correct. Once Boot Camp is completely installed you need to put in the 1st Leopard Disc. It should autostart a bootcamp driver install program which will install all Mac specific hardware windows drivers, including the soundboard, video, etc. It will also install a little taskbar app that let's you control bootcamp and restart in OS X automatically.

    Apple has a 30+ page manual pdf on their support website that describes the full bootcamp install process. This is all in there.
     
  9. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #9
    Awesome! Thank you so much!
     
  10. wesrk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #10
    same problem here, i did however install the drives that came with the Leopard dvd and I'm still without sound when using XP
     
  11. ComeOnDieYoung macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #11
    I had this problem.

    I had this problem.
    I had to buy an external sound card. (phillips aurrilium)

    I still don't know why it wouldn't work.
    I called Apple and they said to call Windows... I didn't want to bother.
     
  12. Erwin-Br macrumors 6502a

    Erwin-Br

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    In the system tray you should have a red speaker icon. It opens the Realtek sound config program. Fiddling with the settings in there is more useful than using the standard Windows sound options.

    --Erwin
     
  13. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    Windows sucks. I don't believe for a second that optical audio is going to work.
     
  14. Vinney macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #14
    does anyone know how to mute the mac internal speaker.... ??
     
  15. skyline r34 macrumors 6502

    skyline r34

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #15
    Had the same problem as you but with Vista 64-bit but after I put in the leopard disk everything work fine but know I've have a problem with static sound in my speakers when using a Optical Cable, I have the Z-5500 speakers
     
  16. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #16
    I'm using Windows XP and my Optical Cable going to my Creative 5.1 Surround is working fannnntastic. Although, I boot up XP like once a month to play a game. lol
     
  17. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #17
    Cut the wire leading to it sounds like the best option. :D
     
  18. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #18
    mine did this too and the windows xp side didn't see any audio card.
    But the next day all was fine.

    not sure what happened... it's windows
     
  19. snikrepkire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #19
    XP Drivers for Macbook hardware

    Possibly off-topic, but potentially helpful for people searching for boot camp windows drivers to resolve graphics, network, and audio problems.

    I installed XP last night on a MacBook boot camp partition. My Leopard CD was 30 miles away and I was drinking, so I had to find the drivers I wanted to watch a Netflix movie (display, audio, wireless).

    The Airport Extreme Card driver I downloaded from Dell's web site -as it is a Broadcom chipset.
    I downloaded it in OSX and copied it to the desktop folder of the Windows partition, booted into Windows and installed it.
    I used r140747 from support.dell

    I have a Macbook so the graphics driver for mine was found at Intel -i'ts a GMA x3100 but the download there is based on the chip set, not the card so match that rather than searching for the card name -on the MacBook anyway.
    In my case the package that worked was for the Mobile Intel(r) 965 Express Chipset.
    Intel - Identifying Graphics Controller
    Otherwise, your driver is probably at ATI (ati.amd.com).

    People seem to be having various audio problems -at least in XP. I couldn't get any audio at all, from the internal speakers or the cheap pair I plugged in. No sound card was found.
    The audio driver that is supposed to work is the Sigmatel something-or-other. Uninstall SigmaTel that or any other audio component from the add/remove software control panel and install:
    Realtek HD Audio Codec (Google for "wdm_r190 realtek")
    I got mine from realtek. The newest version was 1.9 at the time of this post.
     
  20. Erwin-Br macrumors 6502a

    Erwin-Br

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #20
    How did you find that driver on Dell's website? :D Wouldn't it be more logical to look for it on Broadcom's site, or isn't it available there? :confused:

    --Erwin
     
  21. OnePumpChump macrumors regular

    OnePumpChump

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #21
    I get this same static sound. It is somewhat intermittent though. My first step was to try another optical cable, but I have not had the time.
     

Share This Page