New MacPro GPUs double precision Gflops?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by layzarc, Nov 20, 2013.

  1. layzarc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    #1
    Does any one have an idea what the double precision speed will be for the D300, D500, and D700 GPUs? I currently have a NVIDIA Tesla C2050 in my 12-core 5,1 and it is rated at 500 Gflops double precision.
     
  2. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #2
    Current amd drivers doesnt support dp.

    btw, I have a titan in mp and it rates 1400 gflops DP :p
     
  3. layzarc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    #3
    Does that mean you can't use DP thru OpenCL? If not, is that likely to change when the new MacPro is released?
     
  4. LongSticks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #4
    Something like this


    Pretty sure that they still haven't released the specs for the D series.

    The table below is for the W and 7 series Firepros that they should be based on. Unfortunately it only goes up to w8000 and people on here seem to think that D700 may be based on W9000. it does answer you're question on double precision. Lastly and further backing up the W as D series re format, is that the W's are the only cards that support 4k.

    Link to the actual site :- http://www.fireprographics.com/resources/AMD_FirePro_Solidworks_BenchMarking_Sheet_A4.pdf
     

    Attached Files:

  5. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #5
    generally no (i.e., yes, it is usually available).

    "OpenCL—Code Generation (emphasis added below):
    ....
    Double as single. If you set this parameter to Yes, the compiler treats double-precision floating-point expressions as single-precision floating-point expressions. This option is available for GPUs only. The default is No. ..."
    https://developer.apple.com/library...rogGuide/XCodeHelloWorld/XCodeHelloWorld.html

    If they didn't usually support double this flag likely would be default to the other value.


    Of the AMDs GPUs that Apple has officially released as part of standard configurations, most have not had DP support (I think only the 5870 ). However, Apple's default is make a distinction, so the infrastructure is there when devices match that presumption.


    Even some of the aftermarket cards later 6750 don't.

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/17875843/using-square-root-function-sqrt-with-doubles-in-opencl



    Ballpark for the D300 , D500, D700 is likely around 6% , 25% , 25% respectively of the single numbers that Apple quotes ( working backwards from Pitcarin XT , Tahiti LE , and Tahiti XT here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compar...g_units#Southern_Islands_.28HD_7xxx.29_Series )

    If have serious long computational time DP work to do, then probably don't want the D300. Substantially slower DP perfomance and highly likely no ECC either.

    Probably yes. First time the entire current AMD GPU line up is all DP capable. They could snore on that, but the blowback from shops that do "accurate physics simulations" (a feature highlighted on Apple's Mac Pro marketing webpage) is going to be pretty intense.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    One paw already out, guess it's time

    Ok, time to let the kitty out

    Netkas noticed something interesting a couple weeks ago. I was able to help figure out the mechanism but it makes problems for me which I have been unable to solve.

    I will start a thread for it.

    Meow
     

Share This Page