New MBA Ambient Light Sensor removal

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by mshahnoora, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. mshahnoora macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #1
    Hi All,
    I just bought my new MBA 13.3 in. 128GB from the Apple Store! Really excited about the thin form-factor and performance, especially compared to my previous unibody MBP. However, it seems like Apple removed the Ambient Light Sensor feature as well. Has anyone else noticed this? This is a very helpful feature.

    I might as well just return/exchange for a unibody 15" MBP if Apple seemed to take out too many features in the name of weight and footprint.

    Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    How did you confirm the removal?

    Have you checked System Preferences > Displays > Automatically adjust brightness?
     
  3. jw nyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #3
    Wow I'd be very surprised if this is true. Can anyone else confirm?
     
  4. GeekLawyer macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #4
    I don't see it. It's not there.
     
  5. bolsen78 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #5
    Hmm mine doesnt say that either or give that option?
     
  6. falconeight Guest

    falconeight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #6
    The automatic adjust brightness is gone but I think I have seen my screen adjust itself.
     
  7. lbro macrumors 6502a

    lbro

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #7
    What if you shine a light on an angle on the screen near the camera, if you see a little dot about the size of the camera, that means it does have a sensor.
     
  8. noodles5666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #8
    I checked the settings and the OP is correct.
     
  9. lbro macrumors 6502a

    lbro

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #9
    If you want to test that, just put your hand over top of the camera, it should cover the light sensor too, and if the screen doesn't dim, it means there isn't a sensor.
     
  10. jw nyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #10
    That's a total disappointment. I ordered a custom built MBA but after hearing it's missing a bunch of features that I've become accustomed to, I might have to cancel my order. The backlit keyboard I could live without but if it doesn't have the light sensor for the screen brightness that is pretty much a deal breaker for me.
     
  11. r2fa3l macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    isnt it below the headphone jack? theres something there but idk what it is
     
  12. GeekLawyer macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #12
    That's the microphone if I understand what you mean by "below."
     
  13. jw nyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #13
    Try covering it with your hand and see if the brightness of the screen changes!
     
  14. jw nyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #14
    I think the microphone on the air is on the left of the body near the headphone jack.
     
  15. lbro macrumors 6502a

    lbro

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #15
    Below the headphone jack? There's nothing there? You mean beside it? That would be the microphone.
     
  16. r2fa3l macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    idk it seems different anyways the light is not bothersome and it looks like my iphone 4 which is a big plus. definitely enjoying my air
     
  17. GeekLawyer macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #17
    No change on mine. If you can't enable and disable the option in System Preferences, I don't think it's there.

    The ports on the left go MagSafe, USB, Headphones, Microphone, left-to-right.

    I covered the FaceTime camera. No change in brightness. Covering the iSight on a MBP results in a change in brightness.
     
  18. lbro macrumors 6502a

    lbro

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #18
    I think we can conclude that there is no ambient light sensor. All the little goodies are gone. No backlit keyboard, no ambient light sensor...
     
  19. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #19
    The ambient light sensors react quickly, but not instantly. So get a heavy blanket, turn your overhead room light on high, and then quickly throw the blanket over your head and the computer while watching to see if the screen changes brightness. That way we don't have to guess as to where the light sensor might physically be located on the machine. Assuming that your particular machine isn't broken, then this test will be absolutely definitive.
     
  20. jagger27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #20
    That settles it. Apple gimped the MBA to make the imminent release (I'm betting on May) of completely redone MacBook Pros look better.

    It's been a while since they updated the look of the MBPs. I wouldn't be surprised if they omit the optical drive and make them more like the MBA. MacBook PrAir, if you will.
     
  21. bolsen78 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #21
    Well I sat here for a little while watching the Vikings LOSE and my screen did go dim so does that mean the is a sensor somewhere on here? I cannot recall my MB doing that ever. but this MBA did. After I wasnt touching it for a while
     
  22. lbro macrumors 6502a

    lbro

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #22
    It could be that you have your MBA set to do that after a few minutes or so to save power.
     
  23. mshahnoora thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #23
    Yes, I can't seem to find any light sensor toggle in System Preferences. I also tried holding my hand over the FaceTime camera for quite a while, but to no avail.

    I really think they removed this feature, although it should be easily enabled through a software update (?? maybe ??).

    I'm really edging towards returning the unit sometime this week, regardless of how cool and thin the computer is; there's a limit of how many features Apple is eliminating. The original MBA was still very thin, and had several features the new one doesn't.

    Any thoughts of how to force Apple to post a software upgrade?
     
  24. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #24
    Jobs did say that the MBA is the future of notebooks. I'll bet the 13" MB gets the axe and the 13" MBP loses the optical drive but the 15"+17" retain it.
     
  25. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #25
    You can't add the senor by software, its a hardware feature. It's not there, never will be.
     

Share This Page