New MBA - is RAM user-upgradeable?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by netdog, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Has anybody spoken to Apple to find out if the RAM in the new MBAs is user-upgradeable or must it be done BTO?
     
  2. Picho macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #2
    It's strictly BTO (it's soldered to the motherboard and is not user upgradeable), so if you don't get it at time of purchase, you're out of luck forever.
     
  3. miknos macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
  4. godslabrat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #4
    So, will each variant be a SKU that other retailers can offer, or is this an Apple-only BTO option?
     
  5. kfscoll macrumors 65816

    kfscoll

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Not sure that it's BTO only. On the MBA product page it says that all MBAs can accept 4GB RAM.
     
  6. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
  7. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    There's nothing to be confirmed. Just take a look at the logic board. The RAM is soldered to the board, hence not user upgradable by any means.
    The same applies for the non-volatile storage (SSD) (in the 11"). Period.
     
  8. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #9
    That only means it's supported, not that it's upgradable after purchase. If you look at the tech specs page under Memory it says "onboard." That is tech jargon for soldered on to the logic board. RAM is only BTO. It's now or never.
     
  9. kfscoll macrumors 65816

    kfscoll

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #10
    Yep, quite a number of review sites have confirmed that you can't add it later. Oh well, at least this time it's reasonably priced; I ordered a 13"/128GB/4GB machine last night.
     
  10. AAPLaday Guest

    AAPLaday

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #11
    The price for the upgrade isn't that bad compared at Apples past records so everyone should look at getting the 4GB version.
     
  11. Loonytik macrumors 6502a

    Loonytik

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #12
    The title of this post made me laugh.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page