New MBA owner advice

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by td1439, Mar 28, 2015.

1. td1439 macrumors 6502

td1439

Hi all:

Last week I found a great deal on a 13" 2014 Air with base specs through Best Buy ($750 including tax). I've used Macbooks a fair amount, but this is my first Mac. I'm a teacher and I've got Google Drive, Dropbox, and Evernote installed on it for work use. This will be a work computer for the most part, meaning I will use it for email, Google apps/Evernote for my job, and web usage. (On a side note, if other teachers see this and have any recommendations for OSX apps for planning or grading, I'd love to hear them. I work at a private school and we don't use any school-wide software other than Google Apps.) It has Yosemite installed, which I'm fine with.

I'm comfortable and reasonably literate with computers, but there are still some features of OSX I'm getting used to, such as not having easy access to folders except via a Finder search. So what advice do people have for a relative OSX newbie like me? (Or anything useful to know about the Macbook itself, such as taking care of the battery.) Thanks in advance!

2. motrek macrumors 68020

I can help you with your two more specific questions here.

First, the basic idea behind the Finder is that you can have a standard "Finder window" where you can navigate around. The most useful part of this window to you will probably be the left-hand side which essentially has shortcuts to different drives and folders.

Try opening a new Finder window and clicking on your user name at the left. Should have a little icon of a home next to it. This will take you to your home folder on your internal drive. From there you can see all the sub-folders in your home folder, e.g., your Downloads, Desktop, Pictures, etc. Navigating around these for a bit should give you a good feel for how things are organized.