New Mba Set Up

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by deja2412, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. deja2412 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #1
    got new MBA last night.. not it is setting here all charged.
    i know nothing about apples. so i really need help.
    I opened it up and started the set up procedure
    but because i have a verizone usb720 now...(i need my friend to bring
    my extention usb it came with ) *(cause its at his house.)
    yesterday before i got the air my 720 wouldnt let me online
    so i called and got some needed updates. the tech told me to
    just plug in my 720 and it would get me on line without a dvd. fyi

    questions now
    1. what is the os thing? and leopard?
    2.will i have java sun and vm cause i need it for POGo_Or do i
    need to download it?
    3. I HAVE AOL AS A PROVIDER do i just download that again?
    i went to the vrecommended apple sight and i sure dont see a thing telling me about how to use a apple air

    so please please help me out.
    i asked this ? under another thread and it was specifically one
    for verizone cards.
     
  2. polar-blair macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #2
    Oh you really know nothing. Well soon once you learn how macs work you will love it.

    Ok I can answer 2 questions. OSX pronounced O, S, ten not X, ten. Is the version of the operating system (operating system = OS) and the ten is what version it is. The operating system is the software used to make your mac work like windows Xp and Vista. The leopard thing is the name given to the version of OSX, in leopards case its the 5th installment of OSX so leopard is also known as 10.5 before leopard there was tiger 10.4 ect... (all big cat names... dont know why)

    About AOL, Im sure AOL will do a messenger app for mac, but there is a instant messenger application called iChat which you can use your AOL account with.

    I dont know anything about your second question sorry but someone should be able to help you out. :D
     
  3. deja2412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #3
    kewl thank you so much that is clear now yayyyy you
    another question
    4. will my 720 usb work with the extention verizon packed with it
    that area is so hard to get too
    5. can i get on line using a wifi what do i need and what do i do?
    6. can i set up a wireless system using my linsyst and my verizone
    usb 720.. if so how do i set it up and what do i need.
    7. when i set up my 720 on my 2 month old alienware(soon to be my backup)
    all i did was put in a disc WILL I BE ABLE TO JUST PLUG IN AND GO
    AS THE VERIZION TECH SAID?
    8. SO WHAT VERSION OF A CAT IS THE APPLE AIR AND HOW DO I DOWNLOAD IT TO MY AIR SORT OF A REPEAT ?

    I APPRECIATE ALL ANSWERS LOVE AND HUGS
     
  4. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #4
    your verizon 720 should work with built in MacOS drivers, i don't think u need to install anything extra
     
  5. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #5
    If you already have a wi-fi network in range select the AirPort icon on the right side of the menu bar and select your network.

    Turn Caps Lock off. You question doesn't make sense. You are asking what version of software your computer is.... :confused::confused:

    But I'm kind today so :)... Your MacBook Air (just like any modern Mac) runs Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard.
     
  6. deja2412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
  7. gcmexico macrumors 6502a

    gcmexico

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    *
    yep, it will work...I use but I have it hooked up to a USB hub, never had a problem with it
     
  8. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #8
    Yup, I agree ^^^ get yourself a nice hub, b/c that single USB port can do so much more for you. I have one that you can plug-in the power adapter into it and run the SuperDrive to it. Congrats on your new MBA.:cool:
     
  9. deja2412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #9
    Thank you so much
    good news .. i am all set up and on line

    i do need more than 1 usb for sure.

    next i need to set up a wireless network.
    any help with that?
    i have net gear here unopened.
    a friend will help set it up in about a week he said.

    i saw the tiny verizon um175 card with the apple on it. today
    will it run my MBA and alienware like the old 720 card is.?
    so i can play pogo games schoolwork and some psp type stuff.

    what is thought of the 727?
    any other verizon card better for me? like fast and wonderful.??
    i just want to thank all of you for being so kind to this noobie.
    i have learned so much tytytytytytyty
     

Share This Page