New MBP 15" Heat Concern?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Warwizzles, Apr 4, 2012.

1. Warwizzles macrumors newbie

I'm sorry if I'm obviously way off and there's no problem whatsoever but I am completely new to macs and i think its better to be safe than sorry. So I just bought a 15" 2.2 Ghz Core i7 MBP 2 nights ago and I noticed pretty much right away that with extremely light use of basic apps I was noticing a decent amount of heat and the fans definitely kicking in hard when playing some league of legends for a little bit. So today I got iStat Pro to check out what was going on for sure and this is what I concluded:

With simultaneous use of a couple tabs open on safari, a Skype conversation, idle uTorrent, and idle Ableton live my CPU temp stays over 80C and fans going anywhere from 4200-4500+ RPM. Is this normal for the new 15" MBP or should I get it checked out? Because one of the reasons I invested in this was to make my music production projects portable, but now I'm scared to even start one. :(

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

It's normal. There are literally dozens of threads on this exact same non-issue if you browse through the forums.

3. RKO macrumors 6502

RKO

That is normal. I have the same MBP. Great for warming your lap in winter when playing games. Enjoy your MBP!

4. Warwizzles thread starter macrumors newbie

*Phew* Well that's relief to hear :) Thanks for the info guys, and one more question while I have your attention haha what temps should I be worried about just for future reference when I start really using Pro Tools and Logic Pro.

5. throAU macrumors 601

throAU

pretty sure the intel CPU is specced for, and will throttle itself back (or shut down if necessary) around 100C.

while there is thermal headroom available the current core CPUs will clock themselves higher (turbo) if processing needs dictate to get things done as fast as possible.

6. mdnz macrumors regular