New MBP: 256MB VRAM vs 512MB VRAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shaner2000, Apr 14, 2010.

1. shaner2000 macrumors member

I've been reading almost non-stop on these forums trying to decide which MBP to buy (last Mac was Titanium G4 - switched to PC when I got one free at work in 2004 - want to go back to Mac - was waiting for an update to purchase to try to minimize obsolescence)...

In an attempt to clarify one point in my mind and not ask a question that's been answered 20 different ways already....here's my situation:

--The most "intense" stuff I can think that my laptop will see would be:

-photo editing in Photoshop (amateur, for kicks)
    -video editing (probably just in the include iMovie - rendering video from my Sony VIXIA HD camcorder - again, mostly home videos)
    -running a version of Windows (either VM or dual-boot - I think VM would be preferable) so I can run my work software (I'm a healthcare professional - need to be able to work with a PC-only electronic medical record) via remote desktop
    -movies

--I will not be:
    -playing intense game
    -making the next Toy Story

So....after much reading I've come to the following conclusions about my main questions:
    -i5 is about equal to i7
    -buy a 7200 RPM HD for now and upgrade to SSD later

The biggest remaining question I can't settle in my mind is:

Will I "need" either
    -upgrade to 8GB RAM
    -the 512MB VRAM in the i7 15" model

Thanks for your input!

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Just get the low-end 15", it's fine for you. Save the money towards SSD and RAM though 4GB is still enough for you, maybe worth to get 8GB when CS5 is out

3. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

4. bluetick macrumors member

Um-m, didn't really get you here. In case you just need to connect to remote Windoze computer which hosts all your medical apps via RDP, there's a Mac version of Remote Desktop Connector directly from Billy. And yes, it's free.