New MBP and Oblivion?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mrchainsaw5757, Jun 20, 2007.

  1. mrchainsaw5757 macrumors regular

    mrchainsaw5757

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #1
    Hey guys, i search on the forums before posting this. But noone really had anything to say about the new MacBook Pro's and running Oblivion on it via BootCamp. I just got the MBP and havent installed Bootcamp yet. But i was just wondering if the specs on the new MBP would be suitable for Oblivion. I read the recommended specs for PC's but when it comes to video cards i know nothing about that. Incase you didnt know i have the lower end new MBP. 2.2Ghz 120GB 2GB ram 128 GeForce 8600M GT. If that helps. Thanks!
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Should be fine except for HDR and AA. My son is running Oblivion on his Athlon XP 1600+ with FX5500 on minimal graphics. If he can do that, you should be getting decent FPS on high on your MBP.
     
  3. mrchainsaw5757 thread starter macrumors regular

    mrchainsaw5757

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #3
    Hmmm... well cool! except i dont know what HDR and AA are....
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    HDR is High Dynamic Range. Lets you see things that are dark and light at the same time.

    AA is anti-aliasing. Makes lines smoother.

    Probably won't make a big diff. You might even be able to use them to a certain degree.
     
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #5
    I've tried it on a 2.2 new mbp

    Indoors or in a city with mid-high settings, no AA, HDR i get well over 30 fps
    outdoors in grassy areas I get about 10

    I could turn down the graphics, but it looks too nice =P

    1440x900 resolution..
     
  6. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #6
    Hey thanks for asking this! I'm getting the same system as you pretty much, and this was good to know. :)
     
  7. mrchainsaw5757 thread starter macrumors regular

    mrchainsaw5757

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #7
    Is that good? i dont know anything about gaming.
     
  8. mags631 Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #8
    You will need to experiment with the graphic settings on your own to see what speed / graphic detail trade-off works best for you. This is easy to do within Oblivion, and it has many graphic options to play with. I found running at full resolution, I needed to turn off HDR and anti-aliasing and use medium textures to improve the fluidity of motion (i.e., no stutter). From there, you can experiment with the other settings within the game to achieve the best look and performance.

    Enjoy!
     
  9. mrchainsaw5757 thread starter macrumors regular

    mrchainsaw5757

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #9
    alright! thanks a lot man. now all i need to do is install windows, which im kind of afraid of....
     
  10. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #10
    He can't be running it very well! My Athlon 64 3000+ and GeForce 6600 GT (with 1.5 GB RAM) could barely run the game on low settings!
     
  11. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    I run oblivion on my 2.16ghz X1600 macbook pro perfectly fine in full rsolution with all the details around the middle. It looks great and runs very nicely.
     
  12. Lenow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #12
    Oblivion Error Message on MBPro with Bootcamp

    As posted on another thread, we loaded Oblivion on a new MacBook Pro using Bootcamp. After loading, when we went to start it up, it gave us a message that said "failed to initialize renderer. NiXAdapterDesc::GetDeviceCaps()failed."

    Can anyone help with this problem?
     
  13. pipedreams macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #13
    oblivion problems - Help please


    I am getting this same message, anyone have any ideas or solutions?

    Thanks
     
  14. Sammy Arjona macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Location:
    adelaide
    #14
    oblivion on macbook pro?

    ive just bought a macbook pro 15" and i want to know if oblivion will run straight away, like stock standard, if yes.. awesome.. if not, what do i have to do to get it running?

    any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  15. integrat.ethis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #15
    Oblivion will run like butter on any MBP made in the last year. Just a normal boot camp install and you're good to go.
     

Share This Page