New MBP and Wireless Routers

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by No Regrets, Dec 14, 2011.

1. No Regrets macrumors regular

Hello all,

I am thinking about getting my first MBP and had a couple of questions....

Will any wireless router work with the new MBP or does one need to use a Mac wireless router?

The reason why I am asking this is because I just bought a new plasma tv and therefore upgraded my basic TimeWarner cable to the High Def TimeWarner cable bundled with broadband Roadrunner internet and digital phone. TimeWarner said that when they come out to do this upgraded install that they may need to use a new wireless router that combines the digital phone capabilities.

So now I'm afraid if I buy a new MBP that it won't work, or if I need to buy a Mac wireless router then I'll run into digital phone or cable tv problems.

I'm not tech savvy at all, so please forgive my ignorance.

By the way, the router that I currently am using with my PC laptop (TimeWarner has not come out to do the upgrade as of yet) is a Linksys WRT54G.

Thank you

2. Ccrew macrumors 68020

Wireless for the most part is an industry standard configuration. It'll work just fine with your Linksys.

Heck, my wireless Juniper firewall works better than my Airport Extreme does with my macs and the software is much more configurable..

3. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

my MBP works fine with my Linksys router

4. Satnam1989 macrumors 65816

D-Link, Linksys and Netgear Routers work excellent, Can confirm 100%. Yes your WRT54G will also work but I suggest that you need to upgrade it ASAP! cause its old......you don't need to stress about buying a Apple Airport Extreme but if you got the money you might as well get the Time Capsule and also use its backup capabilities with the storage it comes with......

I have been using D-Link and Linksys branded WiFi routers in two of my locations for over 6 years and going.

#1 Choice: D-Link
    #2 Choice: Linksys
    #3 Choice: Netgear