NEW MBP Arrived! Wireless help needed!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by koops, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. koops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Just receieved my New MBP and its perfect! no dead pixels, screen looks awesome, everything seems top quality!

    I do need some help through, I cannot connect to my wireless BT homeHub, I can see it in the network list in airport, but when I put in the password for the Hub it says its incorrect?, I know its not becuase my windows pc can connect?

    I am using network setup assistant can anybody offer any help?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Is it a WEP network?

    If so change the security to WPA on the hub if it isn't already, assuming your machines are running XP or better, or 10.3 or better it is supported that prevents password problems like this.

    Also WEP can very easily be hacked in less than 60 seconds (You just have to do a very obvious Google to find the software if you are so inclined).

    Otherwise you can try and prefix the password with a dollar or converting it into hex, but that's a lot of trouble.
     
  3. koops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #3
    hi thanks for the reply - i'm now on my new MBP - called apple and they said to prefix the password with a dollar as there is a protocol error?

    I also have WPA enabled - thanks for the advice!

    My new Macbook Pro is amazing all those waiting do not fret - i was nervous when opening the MBP after reading all the problems people are having but don't be! best decision i made was to purchase this - very hapy!

    P.S: mine is a week 28 build
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    So now you have WPA on are you still having password issues?
     
  5. koops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #5
    no I had WPA on from the beginning - I thought it was WEP cos it said WEP key on the Hub but my security settings were setup as WPA - me being a doughnut!
     
  6. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    OK, that's puzzling, I have no idea then.
     
  7. motherduce macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    Is your router locked down with a MAC address filter? I do this so only the MAC addresses I list can have access.
     
  8. koddakid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #8
    Actually I am visiting my girlfriend in the u.k right now and I set up her wireless BT network today. If you would have paid attention to the instructions it says to switch the encryption from wep to wep-hex. Hope that helps
     
  9. koops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Instructions where? in the MBP manual? or the BT hub manual? In which case why did apple support not tell me this?
     

Share This Page