New MBP - Heat Concerns

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MrAndy1369, Dec 26, 2011.

1. MrAndy1369 Guest

Hey, everyone,

I'm an Apple newbie (obviously, haha), and I have just bought my very first MBP, 13" i7 (with 750GB HD). I opened the laptop this morning, and I am a bit concerned already. The bottom of the laptop constantly feels hot, as in the screws feeling very hot to the touch. I'm not sure if this is normal (Spotlight isn't indexing), and the use is minimal (iPhoto, DVD Player, and web browsing at the same time - but light usage of each) ... and even without those apps running, it still feels very warm to the touch. I know the i7 is pretty high-end for such a smallish laptop, but if Apple was selling i7's in their 13" lines, one would assume they have already designed the laptops to keep cool despite the high processing power.

I'm concerned about this because I have a DELL Studio that has a 500GB 7200 RPM hard drive, 4GB of memory, is an i5, and is ALWAYS cool to the touch, even when running intensive applications. I can feel the warmth of the MBP through my thick pajama bottoms.

Thanks for any replies ... I hope someone can give me some insight. Happy Holidays, BTW :)

Andrew

2. theSeb macrumors 604

theSeb

Use the search function. There are more than 100 threads on this topic

3. simsaladimbamba

Metal conducts heat better than plastic, thus the MBP feels warmer.
    But as mentioned above:

Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find around 19.216.811
    similar threads:

[​IMG]

4. Badrottie Suspended

Badrottie

The winter is here now…turn on A/C for new MBP will be fine.

5. Marinsky macrumors newbie

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)