New MBP owner with questions!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by d4m1r, Nov 18, 2012.

1. d4m1r macrumors regular

d4m1r

Hey guys, just picked up a new 13" MBP (as per my siggy) and while I'd like to think I'm a Windows and Linux guru, I am new to OS X so have a few questions;

1) How many cells does the stock battery have? Is it possible to upgrade to a larger battery that fits in the stock enclosure?

2) How long does it take to charge the battery from 0% to 100%? I don't care about 0-80% ;)

3) I picked up a Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 128GB SATA III SSD after reading good things about it on here. I usually prefer better brand names but you Mac guys seems to like this SSD so I went for it. Does Crucial have an OS X firmwire updater app?

4) I already went through the setup on the initially hard drive, but I could just rip it out, pop in the SSD, and reinstall the complete OS using Control + R, correct?

Thanks in advance guys! :D

2. switon macrumors 6502a

RE: congratulations...

Hope you enjoy your new MBP.

1.) Don't believe it is possible to upgrade to a larger battery, as Apple tends to use almost all available space to pack in as much battery as they can.

2.) Depends upon which power brick you use, the 60W (which I believe came with your 13"), the 45W (primarily for MBAs), or the 85W (which comes with 15" MBPs but can be used to charge 13" MBPs). It also depends if you use your MBP while it is charging, and how much you use it (100% CPU, 10% CPU, etc.). A 2009 13" MBP takes roughly 3-5 hours to recharge. I don't know what the 2012 13" MBPs will take.

3.) Can't answer this one.