New MBP owner with upgrade questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trophynuts, May 25, 2011.

1. trophynuts macrumors member

trophynuts

Hello i'm new to Mac and this site. I bought my first MBP this weekend.

the 13 inch with the i5 2.3 processor. I have some questions about upgrades.

1. I'm definitely upgrading to 8gb of ram. Has anyone used the ram from Crucial? Any issues?

2. I was thinking of upgrading the HD to a 7200rpm one. My question is would i really see a noticeable increase in speed with that HD upgrade? Also would the faster speed have an adverse affect on my batt life? SSD's are still out of my price range for now.

Thanks in advance for the help. Sorry for any newbness errors in my postings.

2. benbrownlol macrumors newbie

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

Curial Ram works as advertised but people at looking at the faster 1600mhz Kingston HyperX ram now, not sure of that works on the 13" though.

Get a 500gb Momentus XT and be happy!

3. trophynuts thread starter macrumors member

trophynuts

ok thanks.

soooooo would i see a notice in speed of upgrading to the 7200rpm HD?

4. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

rockinrocker

A slight one, yes.

For my money, it was worth it. HD's tend to be the bottleneck speed wise, so anything done to alleviate that is good.

Haven't really noticed any adverse effect on battery life. If you're concerned about it just check 'Put hard disc to sleep when possible' under Energy Saver.

5. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

I moved to a 7200rpm drive and really didn't notice any battery loss.

6. benbrownlol macrumors newbie