New mbp owner

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by highr0lla, Oct 5, 2010.

1. highr0lla macrumors newbie

Hey guys, just got back from the apple store with my new 13" mbp. I was wondering if you guys could answer a few Qs for me.

First I was wondering what you guys use to protect your mbp. I'm split between getting a sleeve or a hard shell.

Secondly, can you guys recommend some programs/apps for me? Since I'm new to macs I'm really not sure what and where to download stuff.

Thanks!

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

3. devilstrider macrumors 6502a

4. mulo macrumors 68020

mulo

sleeve!...
    the apps that i use the most are already on there. the only one that isn't is adium, only reason i use it is because my friends for some reason decided to use msn?...

5. highr0lla thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks!
    And ya I was leaning towards the sleeve since I like the look of the mbp. But then again i think the hard shell is more practical in protecting it. Thanks for the quick responses!

6. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

7. highr0lla thread starter macrumors newbie

Oh and one more thing. I used Google Chrome on windows so I downloaded it here too but what browser do you guys use? Is safari better in any ways?

8. wilflare macrumors member

Accessories:
    Wrapsol - to cover your macbook with a skin (the matte looks sweet!)
    Radtech Screensavrz - to cover your keyboard and prevent oil marks on your screen. (if you use a mouse, consider a moshi shieldpad)
    Moshi Clearguard - protect your keyboard from the grime on your fingers
    Moshi Palmguard - protect the beautiful exterior of your palmrest area.

Sleeve or Hardshell - I use a beautiful handwoven Fabrix Case from fabrixcases.com (you can consider Waterfields from sfbags.com)

If you want a hardshell, i highly recommend you wrapsol/phantomskinz your macbook first to prevent trapped dirt from scratching your mac.