New MBP Owner!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zrider91r, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. zrider91r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #1
    Hi all! I just picked up a i7 13" MBP last night (700 cash and 800 best buy financing[ill have that paid off in 2 months or less])
    anyways, i also picked up a 2TB Airport Time Capsule at the same time;
    is there a way that i can setup a 2nd wifi network and set it up so the time capsule is a remote HD on just 1 network?

    Basically i want it set up like this:

    Network 1: Entire family access.
    Network 2: My private network with the time capsule as a hard drive. (as well as my printer, apple tv and all other wifi goodies i own.)

    I want this because i have a lot of work files i want on a remote hard drive, but dont want my family to have access to them and possibly do something to them.

    TIA
     
  2. bbishop93 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #2
    Congratulations!

    P.S there's a sticky thread for this...
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Go to this screen in Airport Util and setup the guest network and put the whole family on there, then use the main wifi network for yourself as you described.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. zrider91r thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #4
    oops lol ill look tht up!

    can i make the guest and main network password protected and different names instead of xxxxx-guest?

    EX:
    network 1: "Jims Wi-Fi"
    network 2: "RossiLink"
    both with different passwords, and will they both have the same wifi soeed or is the guest wifi slower?
     
  5. zrider91r thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #5
    oh, you mean the "i just got a mac" sticky.

    this isnt JUST saying i got a mac.

    I want to set my Airport Time Capsule up as a external hard drive... Thanks, i think.. ?
     
  6. dazlicous macrumors 6502a

    dazlicous

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #6
    Do you want the time capsule on a private network so only you have access to your private porn stash :p
     
  7. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #7
    You dont need to set up a guest network for that. I have my Time Capsule broadcasting internet for my household, this requires a password, and I have the hardrive accessible with another password. So everyone in my house is on the same network, but they can only access the HDD if they know my password. On that screenshot that Weiselboy put up earlier, click on the "disks" tab. You should be able to set the hardrive part in there.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    That will work exactly like you said, but from my read I thought the OP wanted to segment off his printer and other devices away from the family network also. But I may be reading it wrong.

    ----------

    You do can exactly like you said and name them each whatever you want with their own PW. They will have the same speeds.
     
  9. zrider91r thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #9
    Yeah I have a printer and apple TV that i want on a different network.
    My little sisters are notorious for making important files disappear on computers so I want the time capsule separate so there is no risk of me losing documents that i need for work..
    i will look into this all after work.. thanks for the help guys!
     

Share This Page