New MBP: Time Machine Backup or Migration assistant

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by amjustice, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. amjustice macrumors 6502

    amjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #1
    I am thinking about getting a new machine soon and I was wondering if people typically recommend using a Time Machine Backup to restore a new machine or using the Migration Assistant.

    Do applications get moved over with a time machine backup?

    I would like to do whatever results in the best performing new machine with all my files on there.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    If it were me, I would use Migration Assistant

    When it comes to just installing a new HDD I usually recommend either TM or a clone
    With a new machine like this, I would say go with Migration Assistant
    I have had great success with it
     
  3. amjustice thread starter macrumors 6502

    amjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #3
    Thanks, Do you find it still leaves a clean install?

    Anyone else?
     
  4. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    Yes, it does not add or modify any of your system files that are already installed. Therefore if you have a new Mac with a new install, you will have a new install when your files are put on top of it.
     
  5. amjustice thread starter macrumors 6502

    amjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #5
    Sweet, any suggestions on the best way to clean out un-needed apps before running the migration assistant?
     
  6. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  7. amjustice thread starter macrumors 6502

    amjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #7
    Another question on this, is firewire the quickest way to do this transfer? If so I might need to get a Firewire 800 plug to get this done
     
  8. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #8
    Hello. My current MBP is running Leopard. I am selling it in a few days. I have also ordered the new MBP which comes with Snow Leopard. In this case, what is the procedure for moving the user files from the old machine to the new one? Is it advisable to move the settings as well? If so, please provide instructions. Thanks.
     
  9. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #9
    Leopard backups restore to Snow Leopard seamlessly. That's the most I know.

    amjustice, just use an ethernet cable.
     
  10. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    I second that
     
  11. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    FW800 works great for this. If you have quite a bit of data, it's pain to move it all using a USB drive.
     
  12. amjustice thread starter macrumors 6502

    amjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #12
    Thats what I am going to use, I found some FW800 cables to use from a External HD I have. I also have an FW800 to FW400 cable I will use to do the same migration from my wifes macbook to my oid pro
     
  13. ctdw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    #13
    You can also use Migration Assistant with a Time Machine backup...you don't have to cable the two Mac's together. When I went from a 15inch to 17inch MBP this past November, I just made a current backup with Time Machine and ran Migration Assistant on the new MBP and had it use my Time Machine backup via my Firewire HD.
     

Share This Page