New MBP trackpad

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JSt83, Oct 31, 2016.

  1. JSt83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #1
    I picked up a new MBP today, coming MB. The trackpad is really large and very responsive which is great. However, it has at least one drawback compared to my MB, namely the MBP doesn't offer "silent clicking". Every time I click (not the "force click", just a regular click) it makes a metallic sound. It's not great
     
  2. jjiangweilan macrumors 6502

    jjiangweilan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    #2
    I think they will provide that function later, it should be software driven function
     
  3. ihatetoregister macrumors 6502

    ihatetoregister

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #3
    What about resting position for the hands ? Are they staying on the keyboard ?
     
  4. Cremerhm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Apple says:

    "You can turn off the sound of your trackpad's click by selecting Silent clicking.
    Silent clicking is not available for the built-in trackpad on MacBook Pro (15-inch, Late 2016), MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2016, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports), and MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2016, Two Thunderbolt 3 Ports)."

    So i wonder if it is just software....and will come available with an update
     
  5. JSt83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #5
    I have no issues here.
     
  6. username: macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    #6
    I have 2013 MBA.. can't find the silent click option?
     
  7. JSt83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #7
    this only concerns models with a trackpad that supports haptic feedback.
     
  8. username: macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    #8
    damn that click gets super annoying sometimes
     
  9. b_scott macrumors 6502a

    b_scott

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #9
    My 2010 MBP clicks physically and I like that so I know I actually clicked it. I don't know why this is a want....
     
  10. Marconelly macrumors 6502

    Marconelly

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #10
    I wonder that too. It really may be a hardwired function that the software can't control.
     
  11. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #11
    Does muting the system sound stop the click sound? I assume it's coming from the speakers?
     
  12. Marconelly macrumors 6502

    Marconelly

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #12
    I think the sound is coming from the trackpad module itself.
     
  13. mikeo007, Nov 1, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2016

    mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #13
    Interesting...I wonder if you can disable it using the terminal.
    I think the setting is "ActuationStrength" in "com.apple.AppleMultitouchTrackpad" if you want to try changing it to 0.

    Edit: I don't have a new macbook to verify, but running this command from the terminal should change the setting if it's possible to change:

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.AppleMultitouchTrackpad ActuationStrength 0
     
  14. JSt83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #14
    haptic feedback gives one the sense of a physical click. i don't see what sound adds here, besides annoyance.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 1, 2016 ---
    this:

    --- Post Merged, Nov 1, 2016 ---
    Thanks. Unfortunately it didn't change the setting.
     
  15. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #15
    You'll need to log out and back in for the change to take effect *if* it actually did anything.
     
  16. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #16
    I have always used "tap to click". That seems like a good way to solve your problem. Then you are only really clicking if you are force touching, which no one does anyways haha.
     
  17. Disheart macrumors newbie

    Disheart

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    #17
    I can't read the property 'ActuationStrength'.
     
  18. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #18
    Odd. It was there on the 2015 Retina Macbook on El Capitan, I wonder if they're using a different one for the new trackpad.
     
  19. JSt83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    #19
    i'd agree if it wasn't for the marvelous force click to look up words
     
  20. creamz macrumors member

    creamz

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    #20
    I have an early 2015 model. I have a friend who owns it too and finds it annoying but I love it the first time I got it. I guess it is different preference. So I can see how having a silent clicking option could suit everyone but why would Apple disable it for the new versions?
     
  21. Goldfrapp macrumors 601

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #21
    Wow, I actually haven't clicked on a trackpad in many many years. I've always enabled "tapping" instead.
     
  22. catalyst07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #22
    This is actually a big issue for me– has anyone figured this one out? I just wrote Apple feedback for this model
     
  23. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    The trackpad in the late 2016 Pros appears to be a new revision of the Force Touch trackpads in the 2015 MacBook and MacBook Pro.

    The sound is more 'hollow' and natural - you can tell when having both a 2015 and 2016 MacBook Pro side-by-side that the sound coming from the 2015 is louder and more artificial. I assume there is some sort of sound emitting device in the 2015 models which you can disable in settings.

    In the 2016 models there is no specific sound-emitting device; what you hear seems to just be the Taptic Engine activating. Therefore this is a hardware rather than a software issue and silent clicking won't be coming to the 2016 Pros in an update in my opinion.
     
  24. b_scott macrumors 6502a

    b_scott

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #24
    I wish I had your life if this is a big issue for you. :)
     

Share This Page