New MBP Wifi signal a lot better!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by powerocool, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. powerocool macrumors 6502

    powerocool

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    Ok, good news. In the lab where I used to get no signal with 1st gen. MBP, now I get 3-4 bars, and it actually works.
     
  2. thegrifman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #2
    I routinely get a strong wifi signal at school in rooms where people running windows laptops get nothing. It's a nice feeling :)
     
  3. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #3
    Good to hear. My Core Duo MBP had crappy reception and the kids with Intel Pro chipset Dells would always have signal and I wouldn't :(
     
  4. mainomega macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #4
    don't forget if you have the "old" MBP C2D, you can download the update and make it n-draft too.
     
  5. Zman5225 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    #5
    is it simply because it is Draft-N tech, or do you think it's better because of some design? My iBook greats really good wifi reception so i'm curious.
     
  6. Atomic-Ed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #6
    Thats good news. I have a Macbook pro on order and was wondering if anyone knows whether it will work with my existing Netgear 54g router? If not do you have to buy this airport access point from Apple or are the WIFI cards standard compatible?
     
  7. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #7
    It will work just fine.
     
  8. powerocool thread starter macrumors 6502

    powerocool

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #8
    Well it will work somewhat. I have the Netgear WGT624 router and WPA does not work on this new laptop. So I'm back to the nearly useless WEP for now.
     
  9. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #9
    Unless something has changed that I don't know about WPA should work.
     

Share This Page