New MBP with 1 New and 1 Old Cinema Display...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Shadylane315, Oct 16, 2008.

  1. Shadylane315 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #1
    Is it possible to have a new macbook pro setup with a 23 inch old cinema display and the new 24 inch cinema display.

    I'm mainly doing this for really precise color editing on one and video editing/ video games on the other. I wanna have a nice kick ass setup.

    also does 500 dollars sound good for a 23 inch cinema display?
     
  2. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    only way to use 2 would be to get the Mini Display Port -> Dual Link DVI adapter and then get a dual link dvi splitter (both displays will have to be native 1920 x 1200 or smaller)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #3
    Yeah $500 for the 23" is a good deal.
     
  4. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #4
    Curious... Would this not work on the previous model MBP? Doesn't that have a dual-link DVI port? I have never been able to get one of those slitters to work my MBP.
     
  5. strikeinsilence macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    #5
    The previous model does has dual-link DVI, I've never tried a splitter on it though. I don't think it's the best solution though. To the OP, I don't think your "kick ass" setup will work quite as well as it sounds. Do a search for running two displays with a MBP.
     
  6. Sirus2400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #6
    I believe that splitter would give you 2 screens that are mirrored, ie they would both have the same thing on them.... If that's ok with you, then it should work on an older DVI output.
     
  7. jrlcopy macrumors 6502

    jrlcopy

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #7
    Sirus2400 is right, you need to buy a matrox dualhead2go to use with hook up 2 external monitors.
     
  8. strikeinsilence macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    #8
    Thats totally pointless though, why would you want the same thing on two screens? Pretty sure the OP wants to be running essentially 3 screens, and I don't that's easily done.
     

Share This Page