New MBPs and DDR2-800 Ram

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by w8ing4intelmacs, Jun 9, 2007.

  1. w8ing4intelmacs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    East Coast, US
    #1
    What kind of performance increase (if any) would be expected if you replaced the RAM in the new MBPs with DDR2-800 RAM?
     
  2. rijiMacDij macrumors regular

    #2
    None, it won't know the difference!
     
  3. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #3
    In other words, the computer would automaticalls clock the RAM down to 667Mhz when it is in use with the computer. So don't waste your money, and buy 667Mhz sticks!
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Absolutely no performance gains whatsoever. Enjoy wasting your money though.
     
  5. w8ing4intelmacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    East Coast, US
  6. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #6
    FSB != Memory controller.

    Since your PeeCee users are so hell bent on bringing up figures and acronyms on a Macintosh forum, consider this. The Athlon 64 has a 1000mhz FSB, is there such a thing as 1000mhz ram?

    *head explodes*
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    How many threads are we going to have on this? Why don't people use the search?
     
  8. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

    dartzorichalcos

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Atlantis
    #8
    Yes, the front side bus runs at 800mhz.
     
  9. Butthead macrumors 6502

    Butthead

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #9
    Agreed!

    Everyone do a search damn it!

    Also, once again, and again; we have regular posting of misleading and inaccurate information

    Eidorian & iW00t, you also need to do a search of threads and learn more about the bus system, how both FSB & mem buses can be overclocked or adjusted buy the manufacturer. Dell even got a 'non-roadmap' CD CPU from Intel (do a search on my posts an you'll find the link to the story earlier this year). So too could Apple, if they desired to use such products and pay more for them, which is exactly what Apple did for the 'Octo' MP.
     
  10. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #10
    I have some old PC-133 RAM from my G4 sawtooth. Do you think I can trade it for a stick of gum, maybe even a whole pack?:D
     

Share This Page