New Mini support 64-bit!

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by FrancoisC, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #1
    Yup, just tried holding 6 & 4 on my mini during boot-up, it took a little longer to boot the first time (building cache?) and when I checked the system profiler, 64-bit was active!
     
  2. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Erm.... even my early 2009 mini was 64bit, so this should be no surprise.
     
  3. FrancoisC thread starter macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #3
    I had an early mini (09), and the only way to get it to boot full 64-bit was to hex edit the kernel. The EFI is 64-bit, but for whatever reason apple blocked the 64-bit boot on it.

    But it's true that you can run 64-bit software on it even it the system is booted in 32 bit mode.

    Another possibility, I sold my '09 a couple of months ago, maybe a point update enabled it?
     
  4. Mr.T macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #4
    Are you saying the new 320m Mac mini when doing a standard boot only boots into 32bit OS X?
    I'm confused...
     
  5. joeinid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #5
    As far as I understand, only Xserve computers boot 64bit by default. Most macs in the last 1-2 years are capable but don't boot 64bit automatically.
     
  6. Mr.T macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #6
    Why do the latest 320m Mac mini's have the configuration from apple to be purchased in 4gb or 8gb models if the os only boots in 32 bit mode? This seems crazy to me!
     
  7. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    And let me know how advantageous this turns out to be. Most people think that the system will be much faster since 64 > 32.
     
  8. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    Mac does not separate 32bit and 64bit like Windows does. Mac actually implements the things in a right way, meaning that there is no distinction between 32bit and 64bit. All OS X 10.5 and upwards has full 64bit support (64-bit API and 64-bit memory addressing).

    The "32bit vs 64bit mode" is purely the mode the kernel works in. Your 64bit apps will work as well with the 32bit kernel. You only need the 64bit kernel if you work with lot of RAM (according to Apple at least). On practice, there is no difference between the two modes.
     
  9. Lior.Amsalem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #9
    but if you boot into a 64bit kernel, can you still run 32bit apps? like itunes and some more?
     
  10. Mr.T macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #10
    I still don't understand. As far as I'm aware a 32bit kernel will only use ~3.5gb of ram. If I had 4 or 8gb of ram are you suggesting if I do a standard boot I'd lose ~.5 or ~4.5gb of ram of my installed ram? Or does OS X detect how much ram is installed at boot and load the correct kernel automatically?
     
  11. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    Yes there is. With a 64-bit kernel, you are using twice as much space for the pointers. If you don't need that much space, you're doing more work for nothing.
     
  12. arbitrage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #12
    Read and you will understand.....
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=783948

    Basically, mac is different than windows. Macs that boot into 32 bit (all other than xserve) still can use all your memory if the app is 64bit. Windows on the other hand is limited to 4GB if running in 32bit. Actually booting into 64 (via holding 6 and 4 keys at startup) may not give much benefit at all except on MacPros with large amounts of ram and in most cases will cause problems unless all your apps, drivers etc are 64bit.
     
  13. joeinid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #13
    The memory limitation is only on windows pc's. The macs will show full memory weather 32/64bit.

    The way I will be using my mini is as a glorified music server booted in 64bit mode. I will hook up a digital audio processor via firewire into my stereo. Running 64bit for some music applications will sound better this way.

    Have fun!!!


    arbitrage - THANK YOU very much for the link. Great info!
     
  14. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #14
    i don't think you really understand what 64-bit kernel boot mode means. it has nothing to do with audio fidelity.
     
  15. joeinid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #15
    check out the post mid page by member audioengr ...


    Check out this thread on audioasylum and audiocircle ....


    http://www.audioasylum.com/cgi/vt.mpl?f=pcaudio&m=76061

    Benefits, posted on June 17, 2010 at 09:55:54
    audioengr
    Manufacturer

    Posts: 4224
    Location: Oregon
    Joined: April 12, 2001
    Actually, users are reporting much better sound quality with 64-bit on the Mini. It's evidently not subtle either. I have not been successful in doing the patch yet myself however.



    http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=82154.0


    Apple Computer's Running in 64 Bit Mode ... Sounds Way Better!
    « on: 7 Jun 2010, 07:22 AM »

    Not sure if this has ever been discussed on this forum but I recently received one of the best computer audio tips of all time from my friend Gary. If you have an Apple computer with a Core2Duo processor, run Snow Leopard in 64 Bit mode and its like adding jet fuel to your computer. These instructions are for a Mac Mini but I believe they will work with any Apple Core2Duo computer. (I added some clarification tips in a comment at the bottom of the article if you are new to Terminal scripts like I was.)

    http://blog.leanopen.nl/2010/04/23/...-to-boot-in-64-bit/comment-page-1/#comment-70

    There was an absolutely huge change in sound quality with my system. My music server is a dedicated early 2009 Mac Mini Mini with SSD and 4 GB of Ram, playback is via iTunes to Amarra to a Pace Car USB. If you own a newer Apple computer you have to give this a try, best free tweak ever, an explosion of sound! One of the main features of the 64 Bit architecture is its more efficient use of RAM. I have the current maximum of 4 GB installed but the sky's the limit in 64 Bit mode. With Amarra working like a memory player the more RAM the better and I have to say I am curious what even more RAM would sound like. 8 GB is now available on eBay for $260.

    When you shut off your computer it reverts back to 32 Bit mode so its easy to compare the sound. (Unless you load the script for permanent 64 Bit mode) Simply hold down the 6 & 4 key when starting your computer to boot into 64 Bit mode.

    Here is a pictorial I made to open up and Mod a Mac Mini.
    http://picasaweb.google.com/baulsaudio/MacMiniMod?authkey=Gv1sRgCPmsgJje9K_E9AE#5397371113381425506


    .
     
  16. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #16
    I don't see any real tests to prove this, and I cannot see how that would change audio quality.
     
  17. joeinid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #17
    Does not mean it's not true ...

    your mileage may vary. I, at least, like to have the option and decide for myself:p.


    .
     
  18. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #18
    Certainly there's no harm in trying. Let us know if you notice a difference.
     
  19. joeinid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #19
    Everything should come together in a couple of weeks ...

    I can't wait to do some listening and report back. There seems to be some voodoo with anything revolving around audio. Boutique cables and tweaks, it really gets crazy. That's the beauty of Apple and macs, some of the better hardware/applications run better or are only designed to run on this platform. We'll see ....

    .
     
  20. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #20
    If you have to do all that to get better quality, then it's not just changing to 64-bit that's making a difference.
     
  21. Mr.T macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #21

    Interesting read, thanks. My experience is with Linux, and getting more than 4gb of ram required a PAE kernel, but still binaries compiled under 64bit won't work on 32bit and vice versa.
    Another reason why OS X is superior?
    Cheers.
     
  22. joeinid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    #22
    Another benefit of running os x server on mac computers ...

    From the Apple support site, 2 methods to boot 64 bit ....

    Products Affected

    Mac OS X Server 10.6

    You can use either of these methods:

    Method 1: Startup key combination (for current startup only)

    * If your server uses the 32-bit kernel by default, but supports the 64-bit kernel, you can start up using the 64-bit kernel by holding the 6 and 4 keys during startup.
    * If your server uses the 64-bit kernel by default, you can start up with the 32-bit kernel by holding the 3 and 2 keys during startup.

    Your server will revert to the default kernel the next time you reboot it.


    Method 2: On-disk setting (persistent)

    To select the 64-bit kernel for the current startup disk, use the following command in Terminal:

    sudo systemsetup -setkernelbootarchitecture x86_64

    To select the 32-bit kernel for the current startup disk, use the following command in Terminal:

    sudo systemsetup -setkernelbootarchitecture i386

    Note: This setting is stored in the /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist file and will take effect every time you start up from this disk. If you start up from a different disk, the setting on that disk, or the hardware default, will take effect.


    .
     
  23. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #23
    Using a 64-bit kernel, you can still run 32-bit binaries. You may need to install 32-bit libraries for it to work though.
     

Share This Page