New Mini vs. iMac dilemma

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by js81, Mar 4, 2009.

1. js81 macrumors 65816

js81

OK, got a bit of an issue here. I really crazy bad want the new Mini (to replace my old Mini, which I love), mostly because of the dual display support. However, I'm a little bummed that the processor is NOT socketed on the new Mini - I had figured that I could get the 2.0 and in a couple years upgrade it. Since the processor can't be upgraded, I'm now only looking at the 2.26. However, by the time I do the "necessary" upgrades to the Mini, I'm very close to iMac territory. Here's the breakdown (all prices are from the education store - I'm a teacher):

I have a buyer for my old Mini (specs in sig.), complete set-up with 20" LCD for $500 (assuming it doesn't fall through - I HAVE to sell my current to get a new one)

I am considering one of the following:

1) New Mac Mini, base ($549) model - link
    - Upgrade processor to 2.26GHz ($135)
    - Upgrade RAM to 4GB (from Newegg, do it myself - ~$70)
    - Upgrade HD to 200GB 7200RPM (would be keeping this from my Mini - FREE)
    - I have another monitor, so I won't need one right away, but I WILL be wanting duals SOON (at least $100 for a 19" widescreen)
    - TOTAL PRICE - approx. $750 w/o monitor

2) Previous Generation iMac, base model - link
    - Upgrade RAM to 4GB (from Newegg, do it myself - ~$40)
    - That's it!
    - TOTAL PRICE - approx. $990

Now, here's what I need to know, all-knowing Macrumor'ers - which machine would offer the best performance? The iMac has a better processor (2.4 vs. 2.26, plus more cache - 6MB vs. 3MB) and a bigger hard drive (250GB vs. 200GB, not really an issue, though) and includes the screen (I have my own, but I want TWO). However, I LIKE my current Mini and it IS cheaper. My biggest question is about the video card - which is going to be better, the Mini's integrated 9400M w/256MB or the iMac's Radeon HD 2400XT w/ 128MB dedicated?